Thread: Trouble getting Hauppauge HVR 2250 working with any tv viewer

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Trouble getting Hauppauge HVR 2250 working with any tv viewer

I am just trying to return to ubuntu and can not get my tv tuner working. I have read through the forums and tried several fixes, including setting up the firmware, drivers, mythtv, zapping, me tv and several others. I can not get any program to recognize my card, although a dmesg | grep shows it as card 7 at dev/video1. I'm a noob, so any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks
    Forbin
    Share the Music

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Trouble getting Hauppauge HVR 2250 working with any tv viewer

How is your card set up?

What is your video source (cable, antenna...etc..)

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

My video source is cable. I'm not sure exactly what you mean by how is it set up. It is a Hauppauge HVR 2250. I have installed the firmware and drivers already. But none of the tv viewers will even recognize it's there.
    Share the Music

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Which TV viewers have you tried?

Beans

Some of the other ones you might try are Kaffeine and Mplayer, also xawtv works on NTSC video pretty well and is easy to use, I've even used xine but it's not very friendly for TV tuning.

I've also got a pretty cool little TV recording program you might want to try:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2009778

You could use it to schedule and record shows at certain times / days. Just change the mencoder line a little so it works for your device. If you ever get a DVB tuner instead this will work great.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

I have tried mythtv, xawtv, zapping, me tv, tvtime. xawtv recognizes my camera as a video source, but not my card. Mythtv seems to recognize the card, but not show video from it.
    Share the Music

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

bump