Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: compiz segfault with 0.9.8+bzr (from proposed)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Just call me JF
    Beans
    1,052
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    compiz segfault with 0.9.8+bzr (from proposed)

    Updated Compiz from proposed. Segfaults. Is it just me?

    Running gnome-fallback (with effects). Metacity works as normal (good job). Will try Unity and gnome-shell in a bit, though I can't see Unity working if standalone Compiz segfaults. [edit 1] gnome-shell works fine. [edit 2] Unity also works fine. It's just gnome-classic. Hmm... might be a PPA thing...

    Catalyst 12.6 beta (fglrx 8.980), 3.4 kernel, xserver 1.11.

    Code:
    compiz:
      Installed: 1:0.9.8+bzr3249-0ubuntu1
      Candidate: 1:0.9.8+bzr3249-0ubuntu1
      Version table:
     *** 1:0.9.8+bzr3249-0ubuntu1 0
            500 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ quantal-proposed/main amd64 Packages
            100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
         1:0.9.7.8-0ubuntu3 0
            500 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ quantal/main amd64 Packages
    Last edited by jfernyhough; June 27th, 2012 at 11:42 AM. Reason: Only gnome-classic...
    1) Dell Studio 1749: i5 540 (2.5GHz), 8GB, ATi 5650, Intel 5300AGN XFCE@Manjaro-x64
    2) Lenovo X61: C2D T7200, 2GB, Intel HDA, iwlwifi, XFCE@Manjaro-x64
    3) Compaq Mini 311c: Atom N270 (OC@2.0GHz), 3GB, Nvidia ION, Broadcom G+BT XFCE@13.10x32

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: compiz segfault with 0.9.8+bzr (from proposed)

    Thankfully not seeing it, using the NVIDIA driver from xorg-edgers ppa.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,234
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: compiz segfault with 0.9.8+bzr (from proposed)

    Just did aptitude safe-upgrade and compiz won't change workspaces with the mouse or key board, only the workspace switcher, anyone else ?

    Last edited by cecilpierce; June 29th, 2012 at 11:41 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Just call me JF
    Beans
    1,052
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: compiz segfault with 0.9.8+bzr (from proposed)

    That can happen when an upgrade comes through that resets the Compiz settings to make sure Unity will load. Just go back into CCSM and check the screen edges for Expo.
    1) Dell Studio 1749: i5 540 (2.5GHz), 8GB, ATi 5650, Intel 5300AGN XFCE@Manjaro-x64
    2) Lenovo X61: C2D T7200, 2GB, Intel HDA, iwlwifi, XFCE@Manjaro-x64
    3) Compaq Mini 311c: Atom N270 (OC@2.0GHz), 3GB, Nvidia ION, Broadcom G+BT XFCE@13.10x32

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,234
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: compiz segfault with 0.9.8+bzr (from proposed)

    Here is what it looks like, what an I suppose to do to screen edge ?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Just call me JF
    Beans
    1,052
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: compiz segfault with 0.9.8+bzr (from proposed)

    So, if you want to show all desktops by pointing to the top left, click on the top left red bit to turn it green. Super-e should also work by the looks of it.
    1) Dell Studio 1749: i5 540 (2.5GHz), 8GB, ATi 5650, Intel 5300AGN XFCE@Manjaro-x64
    2) Lenovo X61: C2D T7200, 2GB, Intel HDA, iwlwifi, XFCE@Manjaro-x64
    3) Compaq Mini 311c: Atom N270 (OC@2.0GHz), 3GB, Nvidia ION, Broadcom G+BT XFCE@13.10x32

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,234
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: compiz segfault with 0.9.8+bzr (from proposed)

    OK, I tried that (right screen) and it brings up the 4 screens and I can use the mouse wheel to select but I use to be able to just use the wheel by it self to switch screens ???

    Thanks for the help

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,234
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: compiz segfault with 0.9.8+bzr (from proposed)

    Just checked my other QQ and the mouse wheel switches work spaces and the new update take out compiz plugins and put in a new and crappy one !
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Just call me JF
    Beans
    1,052
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: compiz segfault with 0.9.8+bzr (from proposed)

    Ah, the plugin you need to activate for this one is Viewport Switcher. Check Desktop-based Viewport Switching, Move Next and Move Prev need to be set to match your mouse's wheel (probably button 3 and button 4).
    1) Dell Studio 1749: i5 540 (2.5GHz), 8GB, ATi 5650, Intel 5300AGN XFCE@Manjaro-x64
    2) Lenovo X61: C2D T7200, 2GB, Intel HDA, iwlwifi, XFCE@Manjaro-x64
    3) Compaq Mini 311c: Atom N270 (OC@2.0GHz), 3GB, Nvidia ION, Broadcom G+BT XFCE@13.10x32

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,724

    Re: compiz segfault with 0.9.8+bzr (from proposed)

    Quote Originally Posted by cecilpierce View Post
    Just checked my other QQ and the mouse wheel switches work spaces and the new update take out compiz plugins and put in a new and crappy one !
    The plugins per package have been changed & installing ccsm no longer pulls in any additional plugin packages

    So many that would have previously been seen need you to explicitly install - "compiz-plugins"

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •