Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: X-plane in demo mode even when the dvd's mounted

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    [SOLVED]X-plane in demo mode even when the dvd's mounted

    I can't get x-plane to find my dvd in dapper which it needs to take x-plane out of demo mode. the problem is x-plane looks for the dvd to be mounted on the following

    /mnt/cdrom
    /cdrom
    /media/cdrom
    /mnt/dvd
    /dvd
    /media/dvd
    /mnt/x-plane
    /mnt/xplane

    but my dvd drive is mounted /media/dvdrecorder

    so i need to symlink to one of the above directories

    i can't figure out how to symlink. i've tried "ln -s /media/dvdrecorder /mnt/dvd" but that creates a symlink at /mnt/dvd/dvdrecorder not /mnt/dvd

    please help i'm new to linux
    Last edited by J@F; June 21st, 2006 at 09:38 AM. Reason: Solved

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Beans
    153
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: X-plane in demo mode even when the dvd's mounted

    I had the same problem, and the same lack of success trying to symlink. The secret is to actually create a new entry in your fstab file so that the DVD is mounted at /media/dvd:

    sudo gedit /etc/fstab

    Append this line to the end of the file
    /dev/scd0 /media/dvd udf,iso9669 user,noauto 0 0

    I'm not sure what your system calls your DVD, it may or may not be scd0

    Good luck! Xplane is an incredible game which I've wasted many happy hours on under linux

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: X-plane in demo mode even when the dvd's mounted

    thank you for the quick reply.

    I added the line to my fstab with the change to /dev/hdd and now it won't mount. isn't messing with ones fstab potentially dangerous.

    anyone else know how to symlink it

    edit: It works now. I had to create the /media/dvd directory. problem solved thanks a billion
    Last edited by J@F; June 21st, 2006 at 07:55 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Beans
    7
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: X-plane in demo mode even when the dvd's mounted

    A workaround is to type sudo nautilus in a terminal. This will give you root privelages. If you right-click on the file /media/dvdrecorder you can select 'make link' from the menu. Just rename it /media/cdrom.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Beans
    7
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: X-plane in demo mode even when the dvd's mounted

    A workaround is to type sudo nautilus in a terminal. This will give you root privelages. If you right-click on the file /media/dvdrecorder you can select 'make link' from the menu. Just rename it /media/cdrom or the link can now be cut and pasted to any directory.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    35

    Re: X-plane in demo mode even when the dvd's mounted

    hi xplaners

    same problem here with a little twist,

    i have xplane installed on the vista partition and not on the linux partition and launch it with wine1.3 with no problem but as i am not using my org. dvd and have downloaded iso.image to remove it from the demo mode, but i have tried whats been mentioned above and still it doesnt recover from the demo mode ; please advise

    xplane is in vista partition and
    the iso.image is on the vista partition

    now how to mount it properly, i have used gmount, gisomount,acetoneiso,furius iso, BUT no avial,

    any suggestions?
    Sour Cream and a Slice !

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Denmark - Scandinavia
    Beans
    17,619
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: X-plane in demo mode even when the dvd's mounted

    Necromancing. Thread closed.
    elementary OS Luna
    My Screenshot

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •