Page 26 of 32 FirstFirst ... 162425262728 ... LastLast
Results 251 to 260 of 311

Thread: Asus Zenbook Prime UX31A and UX32VD

  1. #251
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Mississauga, ON, CA
    Beans
    463

    Re: Asus Zenbook Prime UX31A and UX32VD

    Anyone here upgraded the Ux32vd to a full SSD? I can't get grub to come up on boot.

    Where would you put the bootloader, in the new ssd (sda) or the ssdi (sdb)? How about the uefi partition?

    Here's how I had it laid out:

    SSD (sda)
    1- 300mb - Windows (I'm guessing uefi)
    2- 60gb - windows 8
    3- 60gb - ntfs
    4- 20gb - /
    5- +/-100gb - /home

    SSDi (sdb)
    1- 6gb - swap
    2- 18gb - ntfs
    Your verbose output has been redirected to /dev/null
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    User 437407 with the Linux Counter -- My Site -- My Blog

  2. #252
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    69

    Re: Asus Zenbook Prime UX31A and UX32VD

    Quote Originally Posted by victorbrca View Post
    Anyone here upgraded the Ux32vd to a full SSD? I can't get grub to come up on boot.

    Where would you put the bootloader, in the new ssd (sda) or the ssdi (sdb)? How about the uefi partition?

    Here's how I had it laid out:

    SSD (sda)
    1- 300mb - Windows (I'm guessing uefi)
    2- 60gb - windows 8
    3- 60gb - ntfs
    4- 20gb - /
    5- +/-100gb - /home

    SSDi (sdb)
    1- 6gb - swap
    2- 18gb - ntfs
    I only put in a SSD, and installed everything on that (never touched the internal one), and it worked.

    ssd:
    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 63 996302797 498151367+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 996303105 1000215215 1956055+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    ssdi:
    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 1 4294967295 2147483647+ ee GPT


    I think your layout should be possible, although you seem to complicate it with alot of partitions (I would have one per OS).

  3. #253
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    13

    Re: Asus Zenbook Prime UX31A and UX32VD

    Hi all,

    Previously, I got the problem that my screen will become blank after the boot and I figured it out that if I use "fbdev" instead of "intel", I can see the screen.

    I upgraded the kernel to 3.2.0-33-generic-pae recently and hope to see if I could use "intel" driver again.

    I removed my xorg.conf and hope that it will use intel driver.
    However, I found that my computer is now always using "fbdev".
    If I specify "intel" in /etc/X11/xorg.conf, I will get a failsafe screen:

    Code:
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "Card0"
    	Driver      "intel"
    EndSection
    Any idea to resolve this problem? I am quite suffered by the brightness problem. I know that I can only do this by using intel driver.

    For nvidia (bumblebee) things, I can get it work:

    Code:
    $ glxspheres 
    Polygons in scene: 62464
    Visual ID of window: 0xfc
    Context is Direct
    OpenGL Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 0x301)
    7.731623 frames/sec - 7.483778 Mpixels/sec
    
    $ optirun glxspheres
    Polygons in scene: 62464
    Visual ID of window: 0x21
    Context is Direct
    OpenGL Renderer: GeForce GT 620M/PCIe/SSE2
    107.486518 frames/sec - 104.040930 Mpixels/sec
    Thank in advance.

    P.S. I have tried to use those kernel argument, but the xserver seems to be fail to detect the intel chip.
    P.S.2 I also tried to "apt-get purge xserver-xorg-video-intel" and install it again.

  4. #254
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    13

    Re: Asus Zenbook Prime UX31A and UX32VD

    Quote Originally Posted by victorbrca View Post
    Anyone here upgraded the Ux32vd to a full SSD? I can't get grub to come up on boot.
    You need an UEFI partition. That's a small (couple hundred MB) FAT32 partition at the start of a GPT-partitioned disk with the "boot" flag set. It's shared between all OS' on the system. ASUS' default install has that on the HDD, so if you swap that out, you'll need a new one. You can create it either manually or in the the Quantal installer ("Use as ..."). I put mine on the iSDD but either will work.

    Oh, and forget the swap. Just upgrade it to 10GB of RAM while you're at it.

  5. #255
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Mississauga, ON, CA
    Beans
    463

    Re: Asus Zenbook Prime UX31A and UX32VD

    Quote Originally Posted by screemo View Post
    I only put in a SSD, and installed everything on that (never touched the internal one), and it worked.

    ssd:
    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 63 996302797 498151367+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 996303105 1000215215 1956055+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    ssdi:
    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 1 4294967295 2147483647+ ee GPT


    I think your layout should be possible, although you seem to complicate it with alot of partitions (I would have one per OS).
    Quote Originally Posted by Fallen Guru View Post
    You need an UEFI partition. That's a small (couple hundred MB) FAT32 partition at the start of a GPT-partitioned disk with the "boot" flag set. It's shared between all OS' on the system. ASUS' default install has that on the HDD, so if you swap that out, you'll need a new one. You can create it either manually or in the the Quantal installer ("Use as ..."). I put mine on the iSDD but either will work.

    Oh, and forget the swap. Just upgrade it to 10GB of RAM while you're at it.

    Thanks for the reply guys... I was going to create a new UEFI partition, but I decided to give boot-fix a shot. This is what worked for me...

    Booted into the USB (both Windows and Ubuntu were already installed), added boot-fix repo then installed it. Ran boot-fix with the "Recommended Repair" option. The GUI was showing messages that it was trying to fix boot in sda3 (that's where I had my "/" partition), however when it prompted me where to install GRUB I selected "sda".


    Vic.
    Your verbose output has been redirected to /dev/null
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    User 437407 with the Linux Counter -- My Site -- My Blog

  6. #256
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Mississauga, ON, CA
    Beans
    463

    Re: Asus Zenbook Prime UX31A and UX32VD

    Another question... did anyone with 12.10 on UX32VD follow the instructions in "https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AsusZenbookPrime"? I did the power, SSD options and brightness option, but I was not sure if others are really needed with 12.10.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by victorbrca; November 30th, 2012 at 08:59 PM.
    Your verbose output has been redirected to /dev/null
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    User 437407 with the Linux Counter -- My Site -- My Blog

  7. #257
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    53

    Re: Asus Zenbook Prime UX31A and UX32VD

    I am trying to make my zenbook to dualboot win7+ubuntu 12.10. Win7 is installed but ubuntu installer cannot detect it. Also looks like installer DVD does not boot in UEFI mode (message: Secure boot not enabled...). I have tryed UEFI boot device (portable DVD device). Am I doing something wrong?

  8. #258
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Asus Zenbook Prime UX31A and UX32VD

    Ok I've tried to search through this thread as best Ive could to find an answer to my perhaps rather specific problem.
    The laptop monitor is black. It works but the second I login and pass from the Grub menu it just goes first black-on (kinda shiny but nothing appears) and then black-completely-off. By hooking up an external monitor I can use it but I can not for the life of me figure out why it refuses to accept the laptop monitor.

    I checked Xrandr and from what this is what I got

    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1600 x 900, maximum 8192 x 8192
    VGA1 connected 1600x900+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 443mm x 250mm
    1600x900 60.0*+
    1280x1024 75.0 60.0
    1440x900 75.0 59.9
    1280x960 60.0
    1366x768 60.0
    1360x768 60.0
    1280x800 74.9 59.8
    1152x864 75.0
    1280x768 74.9 59.9
    1024x768 75.0 70.1 60.0
    1024x576 60.0
    800x600 72.2 75.0 60.3 56.2
    848x480 60.0
    640x480 75.0 72.8 60.0
    720x400 70.1
    HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    Now this is of course with the external monitor plugged in. I've tried toggling the FN+f8 button (does noting), Ive tried removing "quiet splash", changing it for "nomodeset" and adding "nomodeset" in grub. Nothing works.

    So I'm stumped

    This is an ux32vd and I should mention that I have xubuntu 12.10 64-bit on it.

    Anyone have any good ideas what to try next?

  9. #259
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    69

    Re: Asus Zenbook Prime UX31A and UX32VD

    Quote Originally Posted by wonghang View Post
    Hi all,

    Previously, I got the problem that my screen will become blank after the boot and I figured it out that if I use "fbdev" instead of "intel", I can see the screen.

    I upgraded the kernel to 3.2.0-33-generic-pae recently and hope to see if I could use "intel" driver again.

    I removed my xorg.conf and hope that it will use intel driver.
    However, I found that my computer is now always using "fbdev".
    If I specify "intel" in /etc/X11/xorg.conf, I will get a failsafe screen:

    Code:
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "Card0"
    	Driver      "intel"
    EndSection
    Any idea to resolve this problem? I am quite suffered by the brightness problem. I know that I can only do this by using intel driver.

    For nvidia (bumblebee) things, I can get it work:

    Code:
    $ glxspheres 
    Polygons in scene: 62464
    Visual ID of window: 0xfc
    Context is Direct
    OpenGL Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 0x301)
    7.731623 frames/sec - 7.483778 Mpixels/sec
    
    $ optirun glxspheres
    Polygons in scene: 62464
    Visual ID of window: 0x21
    Context is Direct
    OpenGL Renderer: GeForce GT 620M/PCIe/SSE2
    107.486518 frames/sec - 104.040930 Mpixels/sec
    Thank in advance.

    P.S. I have tried to use those kernel argument, but the xserver seems to be fail to detect the intel chip.
    P.S.2 I also tried to "apt-get purge xserver-xorg-video-intel" and install it again.
    You should upgrade your kernel to 3.5 series (and to ubuntu 12.10)-
    Also here's how to set up bumblebee: http://www.ivegotavirus.com/how-to-f...-ubuntu-12-10/

  10. #260
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Asus Zenbook Prime UX31A and UX32VD

    Ok so I found some more weird stuff out. If I connect the external monitor during the grub-screen I get the option to switch between screens after it boots into the OS. The laptop screen is still dead/black but there at least exists an option that, when you press it creates an overlayed duplicate on the external monitor.

    Xrandr then gives the following

    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1600 x 900, maximum 8192 x 8192
    eDP1 connected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    1366x768 60.0 +
    1360x768 59.8 60.0
    1024x768 60.0
    800x600 60.3 56.2
    640x480 59.9
    VGA1 connected 1600x900+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 443mm x 250mm
    1600x900 60.0*+
    1280x1024 75.0 60.0
    1440x900 75.0 59.9
    1280x960 60.0
    1366x768 60.0
    1360x768 60.0
    1280x800 74.9 59.8
    1152x864 75.0
    1280x768 74.9 59.9
    1024x768 75.0 70.1 60.0
    1024x576 60.0
    800x600 72.2 75.0 60.3 56.2
    848x480 60.0
    640x480 75.0 72.8 60.0
    720x400 70.1
    HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    And using one of the dual-screen managers (dont remember which, I can happily switch between screens... only not IRL, still the same monitor. :/ )

    I think I'm going a little bit unhinged here mentally so if anyone has any little hint what it can be, dont be shy.

    EDIT: I managed to get the screen going by adding "i915.modeset=0" last in the Linux-line in Grub. But then the boot just froze halfway through... one step forward, two steps back

    EDIT 2: By adding both "i915.modeset=0" and exchanging "quiet" in the "quiet splash" part with "verbose text" I could log in to the OS but only in text... and text based OS cannot see my frustrated tears

    So the problem remains that I can only boot into the system with an external monitor - where I can force the boot screen to show me some graphicson the laptops monitor with the i915.modeset=0 command for some reason it freezes completely UNLESS I force it to give me a textprompt with "verbose text"... what the hell is going on? Is there anything I can do? At this point I'm contemplating hiring an exorcist or something...
    Last edited by ohyran; November 26th, 2012 at 06:23 PM.

Page 26 of 32 FirstFirst ... 162425262728 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •