Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu 12.04 is a mess. Help me help you.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Exclamation Ubuntu 12.04 is a mess. Help me help you.

Consider this my bug report since the bug reporting system refuses to work.

Initially, my first problem was that Ubuntu would not install on an external USB hard drive because GRUB failed to install. So I used an SSD. No big deal, just small detail.

I've been using Ubuntu for about 5 years now and thought the 9.10 release was the most broken release, for me, but 12.04 at this point takes the cake. I don't know what's going on in Ubuntu land, or in my computer, but this thing is very broken. I just recovered from a combined X restart and Nautilus failure. I had to restart the whole computer because the X restart wouldn't allow me to login anymore.

I'm having random X restarts while watching videos. It completely freezes the computer when playing 3D games(After a while). Initially the Nvidia driver in the repo slowed my computer to a halt. I am currently using driver 295.59 from Nvidia's website. 32bit.

Nautilus failures keep poping up, however, I don't know why.

The network just stops working after a while. Again, I don't know why.

Automtic remote NFS connections via fstab freeze nautilus for about a minute before they connect, upon system startup.

I can't use CTRL+ALT F1-F6 to get to the prompts. At all. My monitor just shuts off until I hit CTRL+ALT+F7 to get back to X.

The bug reports won't report the bugs they find, because it says they are out of date or something. I have no clue why.

Unity shows up when playing Minecraft "fullscreen." I moded my copy of Unity to include the window dodging feature so it would go away when in "fullscreen."