Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Attempting to install W7 using iso files - need a lot of help...

Beans

Attempting to install W7 using iso files - need a lot of help...

I believe this describes what I'm trying to do: http://blog.hostonnet.com/how-to-ins...urnning-a-disc

This is my first time doing something like this and I'm afraid of messing up my partitions and what not.

Here's what I'm trying to do: Install Windows 7 (Not sure if i'm dual booting or clean installing yet). I currently run Ubuntu 12.04 Precise. I have the .iso file for Windows 7 Ultimate. I'm used to using Daemon Tools when I used to run windows, but I cannot get that to work for Ubuntu. I've tried using isoMaster (or something like that) and GMountIso but I cannot get them to work.

Can someone give me a simplified guide of how I can get this to work?

Beans

Re: Attempting to install W7 using iso files - need a lot of help...

Bump..does anyone know how to do this?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

I've never tried what you are attempting, but I don't see why'd you need Daemon Tools, Furious ISO Mount, or anything else. The instructions clearly show you how to mount the ISO as a loop device.

Is there something specific you are having trouble with?

As for whether or not this will "mess up" your partitions, I can't really answer that, but it's definitely possible when installing additional operating systems on the same disk, so, I'd highly recommend backing up any important data.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by kanikilu View Post
    I've never tried what you are attempting, but I don't see why'd you need Daemon Tools, Furious ISO Mount, or anything else. The instructions clearly show you how to mount the ISO as a loop device.

Is there something specific you are having trouble with?