Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Apache stopped working / noob question.

Beans

Apache stopped working / noob question.

Hello, I just got myself completely worked up after i took a few hours trying to fix this and failed, now i have calmed down and come to you guys for help. While i am not an all out complete noob at ubuntu / linux, i am not that great either.

Hardware is a IBM xseries 366 server, the only notable thing is that their are 8 gigabit ports installed. Software is ubuntu server version 11.10

About a week ago i had a crappy ISP called earthlink that gave horrible speeds. With this setup i had the modem/router combo connected directly to the server by a LAN cable. It has a default ip of 192.168.3.1 and the server has a port configured with a static of 192.168.3.5 i told the modem/router to forward port 80 to 192.168.3.5 and all is well, the website on the server worked (slowly)

Then the isp got changed to comcast. They provide a device which is only a modem, no router. So i connected a router (grandstream HT-502 V1.1C, used on our network for Voip) in between the new modem and the server. I should mention at this point that the server was also being used as a traffic control/ftp server for all of the devices on the network. The other devices were connected to other ethernet ports on the server, which were bridged (using bridge-tools) to each other and another modem. This second modem was ditched when we upgraded to comcast, so now the website hosting is not separate from the bridge / all the ports but one are bridged (back to that "one" later), anyway the port that the cable going from the grandstream to the server used was 192.168.3.5 as well but i have tried troubleshooting this to dhcp and manual settings. The bridge port, br0, is set to a static of 192.168.3.82. I forwarded port 80 to this address in the grandstream and, when trying from outside of the network, the hosted websites worked fine.