Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35

Thread: cant boot into ubuntu

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Catalunya, Spain
    Beans
    14,560
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: cant boot into ubuntu

    I would still try again with the chroot procedure. This time actually type the commands, the copy paste in terminal can also go wrong. And use separate mount commands instead of the long loop one.

    That error message in post #15 mentioned virtual packages, not sure if that refers to live mode or not. Because if you tried that outside of the chroot, it would not have worked.

    You need to boot with the cd in Try Ubuntu, open terminal and execute one by one all commands, without restarting the computer. When you restart, all changes done in the live session are lost and you have to start at the beginning again.

    So, boot live mode, open terminal and try:
    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/sda6 /mnt
    sudo mount --bind /proc /mnt/proc
    sudo mount --bind /dev /mnt/dev
    sudo mount --bind /sys /mnt/sys
    sudo chroot /mnt
    
    apt-get remove --purge grub-pc grub-common
    apt-get install grub-pc
    grub-install /dev/sda
    update-grub
    
    exit
    sudo umount /mnt/sys
    sudo umount /mnt/dev
    sudo umount /mnt/proc
    sudo umount /mnt
    See if that helps.
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 18.04 LTS 64bit

  2. #22
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    16

    Re: cant boot into ubuntu

    this url was generated
    http://paste.ubuntu.com/1027435/

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    8,874
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: cant boot into ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by darkod View Post
    I would still try again with the chroot procedure. This time actually type the commands, the copy paste in terminal can also go wrong. And use separate mount commands instead of the long loop one.

    That error message in post #15 mentioned virtual packages, not sure if that refers to live mode or not. Because if you tried that outside of the chroot, it would not have worked.

    You need to boot with the cd in Try Ubuntu, open terminal and execute one by one all commands, without restarting the computer. When you restart, all changes done in the live session are lost and you have to start at the beginning again.

    So, boot live mode, open terminal and try:
    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/sda6 /mnt
    sudo mount --bind /proc /mnt/proc
    sudo mount --bind /dev /mnt/dev
    sudo mount --bind /sys /mnt/sys
    sudo chroot /mnt
    
    apt-get remove --purge grub-pc grub-common
    apt-get install grub-pc
    grub-install /dev/sda
    update-grub
    
    exit
    sudo umount /mnt/sys
    sudo umount /mnt/dev
    sudo umount /mnt/proc
    sudo umount /mnt
    See if that helps.
    Good eye darkod, the very strange command that subs for these straight forward ones here has a virtual element to it.

    OP I would try this.





  4. #24
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    16

    Re: cant boot into ubuntu

    this url was generated
    http://paste.ubuntu.com/1027435/

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Catalunya, Spain
    Beans
    14,560
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: cant boot into ubuntu

    After running the commands from post #21?

    Those results look the same as the first ones.

    On another note, since it looks like BT uses grub2 also, maybe all you need to do is boot BT and try to execute in terminal something like:
    sudo update-grub

    Not sure about BT but that's what you would use in ubuntu to detect a new OS. It should detect your new ubuntu installation, the only thing is what command do you need to run in BT to update grub2, whether it's the same as in ubuntu or not.

    The procedure for installing grub2 from ubuntu should still work, but it's up to you. You can try simply updating BT's grub2.
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 18.04 LTS 64bit

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    8,874
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: cant boot into ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by darkod View Post
    After running the commands from post #21?

    Those results look the same as the first ones.

    On another note, since it looks like BT uses grub2 also, maybe all you need to do is boot BT and try to execute in terminal something like:
    sudo update-grub

    Not sure about BT but that's what you would use in ubuntu to detect a new OS. It should detect your new ubuntu installation, the only thing is what command do you need to run in BT to update grub2, whether it's the same as in ubuntu or not.

    The procedure for installing grub2 from ubuntu should still work, but it's up to you. You can try simply updating BT's grub2.
    I think that script was run before trying your commands, just in the time frame.

    I missed the third script, so I am probably wrong here





  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Catalunya, Spain
    Beans
    14,560
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: cant boot into ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by wilee-nilee View Post
    I think that script was run before trying your commands, just in the time frame.

    I missed the third script, so I am probably wrong here
    Both links have same numbers. Both posts with links are for the same results. Not sure if it was run before trying post #21 though, I think so too.
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 18.04 LTS 64bit

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Land of fire and drought
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: cant boot into ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by darkod View Post
    On another note, since it looks like BT uses grub2 also, maybe all you need to do is boot BT and try to execute in terminal something like:
    sudo update-grub
    +1. This could just work. That means, of course, that Backtrack will now be running the show, re grub and therefore booting you machine, and that may not be desirable ...

    Any changes you want to make to the grub will need to be made in Backtrack.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    16

    Re: cant boot into ubuntu

    so can anyone tell me how to update grub from backtrack..what about the url i posted about boot repair, did it show any errors?

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    8,874
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: cant boot into ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by akshayvadnere View Post
    so can anyone tell me how to update grub from backtrack..what about the url i posted about boot repair, did it show any errors?
    From post 25
    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    Have you tried from the live cd darkods commands in post 21.

    The comands I gave you originally were for a chroot into the ubuntu install the ones in 21 are as well but in a different command sequence.

    The deal here is that this should be an easy fix, so we are a bit confused as to why my commands did not work, at least I am anyway.

    try the ones in 21 if you have not yet from a live cd.

    The last two scripts you posted were the same ones, they all look the same basically.

    If you post a script explain what you did with the post.
    Last edited by wilee-nilee; June 7th, 2012 at 06:43 AM.





Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •