Thread: iwlwifi 11n_disable=0 permanent fix

Beans

iwlwifi 11n_disable=0 permanent fix

Hi all, I'm a newbie to linux so please bear with me. I've searched and can't find how to make this fix permanent. In summary I can get my wireless to work by entering a couple of lines at the terminal (see below). However I can't figure out how to make this a permanent fix.

I have 12.04 installed on my laptop (lenovo x220) and couldn't get my wireless to work properly. It would connect to the router and get a valid IP address, but I couldn't ping the router or get any internet access. After searching around I found the issue was that wireless n was disabled. Typing the following in the terminal fixes the issue:
    sudo modprobe iwlwifi -r
    sudo modprobe iwlwifi 11n_disable=0

Wireless works!

I then created a file /etc/modprobe.d/iwlwifi.conf and entered the following lines
    options iwlwifi -r
    options iwlwifi 11n_disable=0

After rebooting the first line seems to work because the wireless is disabled, however it doesn't reconnect. If I then type sudo modprobe iwlwifi 11n_disable=0 in the terminal I get this error:
    FATAL: Error inserting iwlwifi (/lib/modules/3.2.0-24-generic/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/iwlwifi/iwlwifi.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)

It doesn't matter what I name the file, I get the same error. As soon as I delete the file and try that line again at the terminal, wireless works!

I'm not really sure what I've done wrong...can someone help?

Cheers,
    Yas

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: iwlwifi 11n_disable=0 permanent fix

Quote Originally Posted by yasitha View Post