Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Wifi problems with Atheros AR5B93

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    13

    Wifi problems with Atheros AR5B93

    Hi there,

    I have just installed Ubuntu with Gnome 3 and I must say I really do like it, especially compared to windows, already after a day of using it and coming back to windows for 5 minutes I am disliking windows! Anyway, I still have one major problem that I just can't get fixed, and if I can't fix it, I am afraid that'll be the end of Ubuntu for me! Basically, I have spent the last two days at school setting up my Ubuntu, I have overcome all sorts of teething problems like multi screens, mounting two hard drives automatically on boot and sorted out my video card driver to a degree, I think it could be better though but it isn't a priority. I am still a complete newbie to Ubuntu, I am good with computers and I am learning fast but I know for a fact, I would never been able to install linux without the help of my friend who really is a complete guru. Anyway, that is the background, now for the problem.

    It is wifi. It works absolutely fine at my school, probably due to superior routers and an insanely fast connection (over 100mbps). However, as soon as I come home to a not great router, browsing stops, google takes about 20s to load. I know my home router is dodgy and does have a lot of problems with windows as well but I can't change it for various reasons. So Ubuntu will connect (just) but it will hardly open pages. I am unable to google anything. On windows, it does work, I can google stuff fine but downloads are slow. Hardware wise, according to windows device manager, my wifi card is an Atheros AR5B93. It could be a simple driver update required but I don't know where to get a driver from and how to install it in linux (my noobishness I know!). I have tried disabling ipv6 and similar to no avail. I know similar things get posted the whole time but I really don't know what to try! I am happy to explain anything else that may be required, I am sorry this is such a bloated post. I hope you can help, it would be very much appreciated.

    Music Guy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    13

    Re: Wifi problems with Atheros AR5B93

    After a little tampering seems to be working now

    I am afraid I am not really sure what I did though!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    13

    Re: Wifi problems with Atheros AR5B93

    No, not working anymore! It hardly brings up google and definately doesn't do search. I am wondering if it is a driver problem but I don't know how I would go about updating it. This is really annoying because it means I can't use Ubuntu. I have turned off ipv6, I have disabled power management, I tried putting the ipv4 as Automatic (addresses only) and the DNS server as my ip address. All to no improvement. I would really appreciate some help on this.

    Music Guy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Omicron Persei 8
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Wifi problems with Atheros AR5B93

    I'm not sure that it would be a driver issue as you will be using the same drivers in your home as you would be in your school.

    Take a look at the latency on your connection at home and if possible try a third location to connect to in order to ensure that the issue is in fact your home router.
    "All right amatuer hour's over. Let me show you why they call me the Velour Fog...."
    .:GitHub:.|.:Dropbox:.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    14,812
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Wifi problems with Atheros AR5B93

    Hi, please post the output of:
    Code:
    cat /etc/lsb-release; uname -a
    lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
    lsusb
    iwconfig
    rfkill list all
    lsmod
    here by clicking on new reply and click # and paste the information between the brackets.
    Thank you

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    13

    Re: Wifi problems with Atheros AR5B93

    Firstly, thank you both very much for replying, it is very much appreciated. As for my router, I haven't checked the latency yet but do I need to? My wifi works in windows. It doesn't work flawlessly, my router I admit is rubbish but it does work. As for the code, I ran it whilst being connected to the router but I still couldn't bring up a webpage. Anyway, here is what I got:

    Code:
    henry@henry-laptop:~$ cat /etc/lsb-release; uname -a
    DISTRIB_ID=Ubuntu
    DISTRIB_RELEASE=12.04
    DISTRIB_CODENAME=precise
    DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Ubuntu 12.04 LTS"
    Linux henry-laptop 3.2.0-24-generic-pae #39-Ubuntu SMP Mon May 21 18:54:21 UTC 2012 i686 athlon i386 GNU/Linux
    henry@henry-laptop:~$ lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
    02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) [168c:002a] (rev 01)
    	Subsystem: Lite-On Communications Inc Device [11ad:6632]
    	Kernel driver in use: ath9k
    --
    03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5784M Gigabit Ethernet PCIe [14e4:1698] (rev 10)
    	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:020f]
    	Kernel driver in use: tg3
    henry@henry-laptop:~$ lsusb
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 064e:a103 Suyin Corp. Acer/HP Integrated Webcam [CN0314]
    henry@henry-laptop:~$ iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:"XXX-Xxxxwifi"  
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: CC:5D:4E:7C:7F:D1   
              Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=15 dBm   
              Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality=70/70  Signal level=-22 dBm  
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:48   Missed beacon:0
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    henry@henry-laptop:~$ rfkill list all
    0: phy0: Wireless LAN
    	Soft blocked: no
    	Hard blocked: no
    1: acer-wireless: Wireless LAN
    	Soft blocked: no
    	Hard blocked: no
    henry@henry-laptop:~$ lsmod
    Module                  Size  Used by
    joydev                 17393  0 
    rfcomm                 38139  0 
    snd_hda_codec_hdmi     31775  1 
    bnep                   17830  2 
    parport_pc             32114  0 
    ppdev                  12849  0 
    bluetooth             158438  10 rfcomm,bnep
    binfmt_misc            17292  1 
    snd_hda_codec_realtek   174055  1 
    snd_hda_intel          32765  4 
    snd_hda_codec         109562  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
    snd_hwdep              13276  1 snd_hda_codec
    snd_pcm                80845  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
    acer_wmi               23612  0 
    snd_seq_midi           13132  0 
    sparse_keymap          13658  1 acer_wmi
    snd_rawmidi            25424  1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq_midi_event     14475  1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq                51567  2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
    arc4                   12473  2 
    uvcvideo               67203  0 
    snd_timer              28931  2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
    radeon                733693  4 
    snd_seq_device         14172  3 snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
    ath9k                 117326  0 
    videodev               86588  1 uvcvideo
    mac80211              436455  1 ath9k
    ttm                    65344  1 radeon
    drm_kms_helper         45466  1 radeon
    drm                   197692  6 radeon,ttm,drm_kms_helper
    snd                    62064  18 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
    i2c_algo_bit           13199  1 radeon
    psmouse                72919  0 
    serio_raw              13027  0 
    k10temp                12990  0 
    sp5100_tco             13495  0 
    i2c_piix4              13093  0 
    wmi                    18744  1 acer_wmi
    ath9k_common           13781  1 ath9k
    ath9k_hw              391523  2 ath9k,ath9k_common
    ath                    19387  3 ath9k,ath9k_common,ath9k_hw
    shpchp                 32325  0 
    soundcore              14635  1 snd
    cfg80211              178679  3 ath9k,mac80211,ath
    snd_page_alloc         14108  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    mac_hid                13077  0 
    video                  19068  0 
    lp                     17455  0 
    parport                40930  3 parport_pc,ppdev,lp
    tg3                   141369  0
    P.S. I didn't understand your thing about the '#' key but I think I got the code in alright.

    Thank you very much again and I hope you are able to continue to help me.

    Music Guy
    Last edited by Music Guy123; June 4th, 2012 at 11:10 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    14,812
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Wifi problems with Atheros AR5B93

    Hi, try this:
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 down
    sudo rmmod -f ath9k
    sudo modprobe ath9k nohwcrypt=1
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    do not reboot or the settings will be lost, if this helps we can make it permanent by:
    Code:
    echo "options ath9k nohwcrypt=1" | sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/ath9k.conf
    sudo modprobe -rfv ath9k
    sudo modprobe -v ath9k
    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    13

    Re: Wifi problems with Atheros AR5B93

    Thank you! seems to work but I am not certain. Before I make it permanent, can I please just check that if I find it doesn't work, I can make it 'un permanent' again. I can do that right?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    14,812
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Wifi problems with Atheros AR5B93

    Hi, yes we can change it even after you make it permanent but give it a few more minutes.
    Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    13

    Re: Wifi problems with Atheros AR5B93

    Thank you very much, your help is much appreciated. It seems to be working now, I'll see how it goes and report back here if I have any problems!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •