Page 7 of 17 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 164

Thread: Humble Bundle V is now out

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Beans
    809
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Humble Bundle V is now out

    Quote Originally Posted by TheAmanite View Post
    to be honest i'm really disappointed.

    no sound in limbo

    psychonauts keeps crashing

    bastion doesn't work at all
    i've installed it to my home directory, tried the libXi tweak, even running it from the terminal. no luck.
    the only thing i get is the following error message:

    all the other humble bundles were stable but this one really sucks!
    When you install Bastion via its script, what command are you running?

    The error in picture says it doesn't have access to Bastion's data files...
    Laptop: [AMD Vision A4-3300M | 8GB RAM | ATI Radeon 6480G | Ubuntu 12.04 64-bit]

    Studio Box: [AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ | 4GB RAM | Nvidia 210 | M-Audio FastTrackPro | KXStudio 11.04 64-bit | 2.6.31-rt14-custom | KDE 4.6.5]

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    83

    Re: Humble Bundle V is now out

    For some reason, all the games work for me except Superbrothers s&s.

    I get no sound at all, but the game plays fine. All the others worked out of the box for me (including Limbo).

    Any ideas? On Ubuntu 12.04 64bit. I noticed that pulseaudio updated right before I installed it, hopefully that didn't mess it up.

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The Hague
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Humble Bundle V is now out

    I've installed Bastion, Limbo, Swords & Sworcery EP via USC, which worked like a charm.

    Like others, I don't have sound in Limbo, but the rest of the games run nicely.

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Humble Bundle V is now out

    Has anybody else experienced trouble with Bastion not loading the entire game in a single window? Whenever I try and load Bastion it only shows the top left quarter of the game screen, but it fills my entire monitor making it impossible to even see the other 3/4 of the game screen. As far as I can tell it is an issue with the Twinview setting in the Nvidia X Server Settings menu. I have two monitors and have them set to Twinview in Ubuntu 12.04 and the issue can only be resolved when I set it to separate X Screens (which is not convenient to do every time I want to play the game, nor is it my screen-type preference). So I'm basically stuck not being able to play the game at all when in Twinview. Has anybody else experienced this? I would really like to be able to keep my desktop preference and be able to play the game.

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    83

    Re: Humble Bundle V is now out

    I checked the logfile for superbros and saw this:

    Code:
    Info: Capy::DriverArchive::initialise() OK!
    Info: EventManager::initialise() OK!
    Info: Capy::DriverInput::initialise() OK!
    Info: Creating the FMOD System...
    Info: Pre-initializing...
    Warning: No audio drivers detected!
    Info: Finally initializing FMOD...
    Info: Successfully initialized FMOD with no errors!
    Info: setMediaPath(/home/shazzner/Games/SwordAndSworceryEP/bin/../res/sounds/)
    Info: File handle looking for: /home/shazzner/Games/SwordAndSworceryEP/bin/../res/sounds/SSS.fev
    Info: Start loading music system
    Info: Done loading music system
    Info: Capy::DriverAudio::initialise() OK!
    Info: FMOD Memory: current load:    1780142, max:    1780142
    ...
    and so on.

    Looks like somehow it's not detecting the audio drivers.
    Last edited by CharlesA; June 2nd, 2012 at 07:34 AM. Reason: code tags

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
    Beans
    1,426

    Re: Humble Bundle V is now out

    Bought!
    Steam: ubuntugamer( Add me ) | Gaming: Left 4 Dead 2, Metro Last Light, Assassin's Creed 4, Forced

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    2

    Re: Humble Bundle V is now out

    Quote Originally Posted by Shazzner View Post
    I checked the logfile for superbros and saw this:

    Code:
    Info: Capy::DriverArchive::initialise() OK!
    Info: EventManager::initialise() OK!
    Info: Capy::DriverInput::initialise() OK!
    Info: Creating the FMOD System...
    Info: Pre-initializing...
    Warning: No audio drivers detected!
    Info: Finally initializing FMOD...
    Info: Successfully initialized FMOD with no errors!
    Info: setMediaPath(/home/shazzner/Games/SwordAndSworceryEP/bin/../res/sounds/)
    Info: File handle looking for: /home/shazzner/Games/SwordAndSworceryEP/bin/../res/sounds/SSS.fev
    Info: Start loading music system
    Info: Done loading music system
    Info: Capy::DriverAudio::initialise() OK!
    Info: FMOD Memory: current load:    1780142, max:    1780142
    ...
    and so on.

    Looks like somehow it's not detecting the audio drivers.
    I solved this on my 64-bit macbook by doing an apt-get install libpulse0:i386
    Last edited by CharlesA; June 2nd, 2012 at 07:35 AM. Reason: code tags

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    83

    Re: Humble Bundle V is now out

    Quote Originally Posted by peterbat View Post
    I solved this on my 64-bit macbook by doing an apt-get install libpulse0:i386
    Hooray! This worked, thanks!

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    2

    Re: Humble Bundle V is now out

    For people with Intel graphics and a black sreen in Bastion, try this:

    To fix Bastion on Intel integrated cards, do something like the following:
    force_s3tc_enable=true ./Bastion.bin.x86_64
    Setting this environment variable enables a specific texture compression algorithm in the video driver. With this, the game runs great on my Intel chipset.
    I followed all the tricks given here for Bastion and then ran into the black screen problem (I got a cursor and the menu was there, I just couldn't see it). Found this tip here:
    https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1109245

    Seems to work now.

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Oslo
    Beans
    37
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Humble Bundle V is now out

    Where is this force_s3tc_enable option? Which file should I edit?
    ...and that's the way the cookie crumbles.

Page 7 of 17 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •