Thread: Is your RAID 0 dead? Read...

Beans

Is your RAID 0 dead? Read...

This is a fix for Windows users who have had their RAID 0 setup destroyed by installing or using Ubuntu and using a Gigabyte motherboard. I have no knowledge of other RAID setups or other brand motherboards so I cannot say if this will work. I also doubt this will work if you have installed Ubuntu on your HDD. While other set ups may be different, there should be many things similar and I hope this guide can help you. If you use another brand motherboard, you will still need that driver disk and can usually find the RAID driver easily by reading the file names and folders and using a little common sense.

It is possible.. That this fix will work without a flash drive. I didn't try it, so I don't know. After step 4 you could probably insert the motherboard disk. But I didn't know if the Windows install program would throw a fit or not, so I just used a flash drive.

Quick background:
    I have a RAID 0 set up with Windows 7 installed. I wanted to have a back up portable OS with Ubuntu, ready to go, on my flash drive. When I ran the OS to see if it was working, it killed the RAID set up I had before. This had happened to me before while trying a multiboot set up with these 2 operating systems, but it happened again despite never being installed on the HDDs. But with the help of users like "traditionalist" and "not found," I was able to fix this problem. If you're bored and want to read about a few guys taking a round about way to solve a problem, go here http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1990594 Remember, you don't always have to pin point anything to help someone fix a problem. They listened to me vent, talked to me and kept my brain working. They helped quite a bit more than they know.

You will need:
    A flash drive
    Driver disk that came with your motherboard
    Windows installation disk

The problem: