Thread: [help]problems in auto-mount windows partition and fstab

Beans

Question [help]problems in auto-mount windows partition and fstab

Hi
    I am new to ubuntu and now having some problems in editing the fstab file.

At first everything works all fine, the windows partitions are auto-mounted at boot, and I have access and permissions to them. But somehow I installed ntfs-config, and then uninstalled it because error message pops up every time I boot. I am not sure whether this has modified my fstab or not. Later I backed up the fstab, added noauto,user options to the windows partitions, and they were no longer accessible. So I recovered fstab using the back-up. But I lost some permissions to those windows files/directories.

Not sure I am describing it clearly. Basically I did something that makes me lost permissions to windows files, but I am not sure what it is because I recovered fstab by back-up, so it could be ntfs-config, but I have no idea of what the fstab looked like before ntfs-config installation.

This is a copy of my fstab:
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>

proc /proc proc nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda11 :
    UUID=4fbb670d-3a0b-44df-83d1-59095081354f / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
    #Entry for /dev/sda9 :
    UUID=926e2475-9582-487c-ba48-736655ee1547 /boot ext4 defaults 0 2
    #Entry for /dev/sda10 :
    UUID=099795b2-ebea-4e98-9b35-b40cd0eceb81 /home ext4 defaults 0 2
    #Entry for /dev/sda1 :
    UUID=64BC278DBC2758B6 /media/M_fM__VM_0M_eM__JM__M_eM__MM_7 ntfs defaults,nls=utf8,umask=0222 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda2 :
    UUID=8A2EF9D02EF9B573 /media/System_Reserved ntfs defaults,nls=utf8,umask=0222 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda3 :
    UUID=687071027070D870 /media/sda3 ntfs defaults,nls=utf8,umask=0222 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda5 :
    UUID=8024234724233F90 /media/sda5 ntfs defaults,nls=utf8,umask=0222 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda7 :