Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 49 of 49

Thread: Booting/Cloning/A Big Mess

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    1,073
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Booting/Cloning/A Big Mess

    Quote Originally Posted by wilee-nilee View Post
    I see that better now I was not sure on the first factory settings mention, I have used this link to do that, maybe the same method you have.

    http://www.informationweek.com/news/...yText=&isPrev=

    This always has removed the activation though the couple of times I have tried it, needing the original activation key put in. If it is a OEM you can get the key I think like any other release with the magic jelly bean key finder.

    http://www.magicaljellybean.com/keyfinder/

    I have seen the no format rebuild not work as well, so this is okay since the one you're working on is a clone I assume you still have the original. The one that did not work was a bad virus situation, like really bad.
    My Windows XP Home Edition never came with an installation CD. It just came with the Recovery CD from Compaq. I do have my original Windows XP on the original 40 GB HDD (the one that's failing), that's why I needed to do a clone. Not a bad virus situation, just a dying HDD.
    Question Everything

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Maine
    Beans
    1,551
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Booting/Cloning/A Big Mess

    on most newer compaq's the install disc is on the origianl H.D. and you are offered and opportunity to burn it once to CD or DVD.
    At least that's the way it's been on the last three compaq i've had. After the original boot don't think that offer that option again. So you may have missed that.

    you may beable to get it from compaq at this link if you really feel you need it. if windows is working fine I would not bother.
    but just in case here is the link:
    http://www.compaq.com/country/cpq_support.html

    Sorry I just gave away my last xp disc. so can't even send one to you.
    Dave
    Registered Linux User #462608
    Ubuntu 14.04.1 /Xubuntu 14.04.1/Ubuntu-Gnome 14.04/UbuntuMate 14.04

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    1,073
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Booting/Cloning/A Big Mess

    Quote Originally Posted by kc1di View Post
    on most newer compaq's the install disc is on the origianl H.D. and you are offered and opportunity to burn it once to CD or DVD.
    At least that's the way it's been on the last three compaq i've had. After the original boot don't think that offer that option again. So you may have missed that.

    you may beable to get it from compaq at this link if you really feel you need it. if windows is working fine I would not bother.
    but just in case here is the link:
    http://www.compaq.com/country/cpq_support.html

    Sorry I just gave away my last xp disc. so can't even send one to you.
    Well, the Windows XP Clone works. That's good news. However, now I have 37.26 GB unallocated space on the new HDD and I'd like the Windows XP Clone to be able to use that. It is an 80 GB HDD and the C:, partition takes up 32.78 GB NTFS, D:, takes up 3.90 GB FAT32. How do I get the unallocated space to be added onto the 32.78 GB for C:,?
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Shadius; May 27th, 2012 at 12:00 AM. Reason: Screenshot
    Question Everything

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Maine
    Beans
    1,551
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Booting/Cloning/A Big Mess

    hi again Shadius,
    I'm sorry that I do not have any windows xp computers here. so can't try this and walk you through it. Been long time since i played much with windows. but here's a page that may be of help to you.

    http://www.support.com/blog/post/res...ut-losing-data
    Dave
    Registered Linux User #462608
    Ubuntu 14.04.1 /Xubuntu 14.04.1/Ubuntu-Gnome 14.04/UbuntuMate 14.04

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    1,073
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Booting/Cloning/A Big Mess

    Quote Originally Posted by kc1di View Post
    hi again Shadius,
    I'm sorry that I do not have any windows xp computers here. so can't try this and walk you through it. Been long time since i played much with windows. but here's a page that may be of help to you.

    http://www.support.com/blog/post/res...ut-losing-data
    I really appreciate the help. So I tried this using your link, but when I right click on the C: partition, it doesn't show any option to Extend Volume.
    Question Everything

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Maine
    Beans
    1,551
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Booting/Cloning/A Big Mess

    ok I know you can do it with gparted ,think it's on the parted magic disk you made here's the link.

    http://gparted.sourceforge.net/larry...e/resizing.htm

    I would back up any important data first though!
    Last edited by kc1di; May 27th, 2012 at 12:37 AM.
    Dave
    Registered Linux User #462608
    Ubuntu 14.04.1 /Xubuntu 14.04.1/Ubuntu-Gnome 14.04/UbuntuMate 14.04

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    1,073
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Booting/Cloning/A Big Mess

    Quote Originally Posted by kc1di View Post
    ok I know you can do it with gparted ,think it's on the parted magic disk you made here's the link.

    http://gparted.sourceforge.net/larry...e/resizing.htm

    I would back up any important data first though!
    Thanks a bunch. It worked!

    Another issue:

    Out of curiousity, I used the LILO bootloader by using my Ubuntu LiveCD and running
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install lilo
    sudo lilo -M /dev/sda
    I think that was the code, don't remember exactly. How would I reverse the process I did? Basically, uninstalling LILO and returning the Windows bootloader.
    Question Everything

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    8,874
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Booting/Cloning/A Big Mess

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadius View Post
    Thanks a bunch. It worked!

    Another issue:

    Out of curiousity, I used the LILO bootloader by using my Ubuntu LiveCD and running
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install lilo
    sudo lilo -M /dev/sda
    I think that was the code, don't remember exactly. How would I reverse the process I did? Basically, uninstalling LILO and returning the Windows bootloader.
    Here is the link earlier in the thread.

    http://helpdeskgeek.com/how-to/fix-mbr-xp-vista/





  9. #49
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Ayrshire
    Beans
    40,291
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Booting/Cloning/A Big Mess

    Thread moved to "Other OS/Distro Talk" forum.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •