Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Compiz in 12.04 Precise Gnome Classic

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    26

    Re: Compiz in 12.04 Precise Gnome Classic

    Quote Originally Posted by codingman View Post
    Compiz is very unstable, does the same for me and has done ever since I started using ubuntu. It's not smart to mess with compiz a lot, unless you want a broken system


    Exactly
    Samitha Ransara

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Beans
    20
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Compiz in 12.04 Precise Gnome Classic

    Hehehe, k, duly noted

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Compiz in 12.04 Precise Gnome Classic

    Sometimes it works fine, other times it crashes as soon as you click on something. Once it is actually running with various settings it seems stable enough, but getting there can be a pain.
    There is always a way, but it might not be the best way, or your way!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Beans
    20
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Compiz in 12.04 Precise Gnome Classic

    Yeah it's working great for me. The only issue I've noticed since I got it up and running is that now when I click a launcher on my toolbar, the icon expands normally and then turns into a black box just before it disappears and launches the program. Any clues as to what I should tweak to fix this? Like is there a file that manages that sort of thing?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Cairo, Egypt
    Beans
    176
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Compiz in 12.04 Precise Gnome Classic

    just popping up here. does it mean that we can run compiz on gnome classic?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Beans
    20
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Compiz in 12.04 Precise Gnome Classic

    Absolutely! All you need to do is make sure you have compiz and the compiz settings manager installed, which I believe you can do from the software center.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Compiz in 12.04 Precise Gnome Classic

    Been working great for me since the last update, Very stable indeed;

    There is always a way, but it might not be the best way, or your way!

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Cairo, Egypt
    Beans
    176
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Compiz in 12.04 Precise Gnome Classic

    Great! will try in this near future then. but, doesn't gnome classic run on mutter?
    Hi, I am Ihsan: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/inashdeen
    Kasr El Ain Medical School,Cairo University, Egypt. Malaysian Linux user, Free sourcer and part time geek since 2008.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Oxford, OH, USA
    Beans
    1,000
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Question Re: Compiz in 12.04 Precise Gnome Classic

    Hi All,

    How can I delete all my compiz settings, or rather "restore" all the compiz settings to the default fresh install versions?

    Thanks,
    CH
    ________________________________
    DELL e6420 Laptop
    Ubuntu Pagolin Precise 12.04 LTS
    Linux Registered User #434330

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Beans
    1,543
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Compiz in 12.04 Precise Gnome Classic

    Run in command line:
    Code:
    gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/compiz-1

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •