Thread: Upgrade or ground-up install? Your experiences please

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Upgrade or ground-up install? Your experiences please

Hi, everyone,

Since that fateful day, many many moons ago, when I got my grubby hands on a Slackware 1.19 CD and got hooked on Linux forever, I have never upgraded any version of Linux. Instead I have always saved whatever I needed to preserve, and done a ground-up install of the new version.

However. I am now running Natty on the laptop that currently serves as my main machine (read: I make my living with it and would be sunk without it) and there's so much stuff on it that a ground-up reinstall of the OS and all apps would take a few days (the Internet is terribly slow here in South Africa, which doesn't help either).

I have always been a bit weary of upgrades, but this is the 21st century and things might not be that bad anymore.

What are your experiences with upgrades? I'm looking to go from Natty to Precise Pangolin, because the latter is an LTS version and should sort me out for a few years.

Thanks!

// FvW

Beans

Re: Upgrade or ground-up install? Your experiences please

If on Natty I will say a fresh install would be wise, as Unity and a lot of things have changed quite a bit and you should back up your user data.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Fresh installs here, if you do upgrade it and you have the room on a external I would clone it just to be safe. Clonezilla will save it in the size of the data, but the reinstall if needed has to be in an equal or bigger partition. You can just save the home if you want as well. Some use a separate home so the upgrade uses the same home.
    http://clonezilla.org/

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

from natty oyu will have to first upgrade to oneiric.

Upgrade work fine as long as the system didn't get too customised by the user.