Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Smart Bro setup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    24

    Smart Bro setup

    Hi, I've recently moved to The Philippines and I have just bought a Smart Bro USB stick for mobile internet. I'm using Ubuntu 11.10 which recognises the stick and I have opened it using Wine. The network manager shows "Enable Mobile Network" but it won't let me check it. It also shows "Smart Bro" but when I click it, it says that I am now disconnected.
    I downloaded Wammu and it says that the "phone" is connected but I can't seem to get any further than that. The Smart Bro came with 120 hours of internet so I suspect that I have to get it to text to Smart to set that up but I can't see how to do it.
    I have tried all the tips on Google and on here except for one which is largely in Tagalog which I don't understand!
    I seem to be going round in circles and I will probably end up doing more harm than good. I believe it is possible to use Smart Bro with 11.10 but can anyone tell me how?
    I have been using Ubuntu for a couple of years and I think it's great but I am not technically minded. Any help very gratefully accepted!
    Andy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Somewhere down the road
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Smart Bro setup

    plug and play ang smartbro sa ubuntu lalo na sa bagong release na 12.04.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    3

    Re: Smart Bro setup

    yes, plug and play lang ang mga modem stick natin d2, just go to connection settings or "Edit connection" setup mo lang ung Mobile Internet.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Beans
    110
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Smart Bro setup

    hi andy, i hope you're still available to read this. you don't need to use 3rd party apps to connect to the Internet. You could try to look here:
    http://askubuntu.com/questions/14145...eing-detected/

    that thread talks about Longcheer WM66a modem. if you have a different modem, just post it here and let's try to configure it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Philippines
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Question Re: Smart Bro setup

    I'm curious; there are a lot of new Smart Bro dongles (see http://www1.smart.com.ph/bro/products/). Can anyone give feedback on which work or don't work? Or do they all work now with 12.04?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Caloocan city, Philippine
    Beans
    85
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Smart Bro setup

    tried most of them new ones and they work perfectly...

    8)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Smart Bro setup

    Quote Originally Posted by itagomo View Post
    hi andy, i hope you're still available to read this. you don't need to use 3rd party apps to connect to the Internet. You could try to look here:
    http://askubuntu.com/questions/14145...eing-detected/

    that thread talks about Longcheer WM66a modem. if you have a different modem, just post it here and let's try to configure it.
    I tried the steps in the link for WM66E modem but Ubuntu 12.04 still does not detect it. No "New Mobile Broadband" notification pops up. I wrote a follow up question here: http://askubuntu.com/questions/22613...being-detected

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Beans
    2

    Re: Smart Bro setup

    my WM66e in 10.04 and also tried 12.04 works out of the box...

    just try to unmount and it will re-mount itself and poof...

    ^_^

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    21

    Re: Smart Bro setup

    can you post the result before and after running the command below.
    Code:
    $ lsusb

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Beans
    1

    Re: Smart Bro setup

    I'm facing the same problem on 12.04.

    Code:
    # lsusb
    xxxxx
    ID 1c9e:98ff OMEGA TECHNOLOGY
    xxxxx
    
    # usb-devices
    xxxxxxx
    S:  Manufacturer=USB Modem 
    S:  Product=USB Modem
    xxxxxxx
    Any idea for solution?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •