Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Music Lens and VLC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London
    Beans
    481
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Music Lens and VLC

    I have VLC set as the default application for opening both video and audio files; I've also right-clicked on a bunch of different kinds of files (including an .MP3 file). Using the video lens, when I click on a video it does indeed use VLC.

    With the Music Lens, however, it uses Rhythmbox. Which I prefer not to use. Is there any way to make these files open with VLC instead?

    EDIT: oh and this is Ubuntu 12.04 with Unity 2D.
    Last edited by evilsoup; May 16th, 2012 at 01:50 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Goshen, IN
    Beans
    395
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Music Lens and VLC

    System Settings (Cog in upper right corner) > Details > Default applications

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London
    Beans
    481
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Music Lens and VLC

    Thanks, but I already have VLC set as the default for music, and for videos. I think this is a problem with the Music lens... would this count as a bug? I would certainly expect the Music lens to respect the default application selection...

    Unfortunately, this makes the Music lens borderline-unusable for me (Rhythmbox is just too heavyweight). The Video lens works perfectly fine... but then, the Video lens seems to be based off of the filesystem, whereas the Music lens appears to be based on Rhythmbox - it seems to search by metadata rather than filename/path.

    So, does anyone have an idea how to fix this? To make these things open in VLC rather than Rhythmbox?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Somewhere with hills
    Beans
    172
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Music Lens and VLC

    right click on the file type that is opened with music lens and under properties there is a tab called open with. you can chose the program you want that type of file to open with. down side to this is you have to do it to each different file type.
    ♫♪♫ You just keep on trying till you run out of cake ♪♫♪

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London
    Beans
    481
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Music Lens and VLC

    I've done that too
    If I open the files from within nautilus, they open in VLC as they should. It is only from the Music lens that I have this problem.

  6. #6
    wojox is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    8,630

    Re: Music Lens and VLC

    When in doubt (may work) :
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/gnome/defaults.list

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London
    Beans
    481
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Music Lens and VLC

    OK I just want ot be clear - you're suggesting I should change instances of 'rhythmbox.desktop' to 'vlc.desktop' in /etc/defaults.list ? Of course I'll make a backup first..

  8. #8
    wojox is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    8,630

    Re: Music Lens and VLC

    Quote Originally Posted by evilsoup View Post
    Of course I'll make a backup first..
    of course since it is a bit hackish.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London
    Beans
    481
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Music Lens and VLC

    That was more for the benefit of anyone googling this thread in the future, if that had worked. Unfortunately it didn't - I changed a line in that file from
    audio/x-mp3=rhythmbox.desktop
    to
    audio/x-mp3=vlc.desktop

    I also tried totem.desktop, but that didn't work either. I suspect that the Music lens is hardwired to use Rhythmbox, which has a certain logic about it since it seems to base searches off of the Rhythmbox database rather than the file manager, but still goes against what I would expect.

    Thanks for trying to help . I'll post a link to the bug here when I've filed one.

    EDIT: here it is. If anyone else is affected, please follow that link and click 'this bug affects you'.
    Last edited by evilsoup; May 16th, 2012 at 09:29 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •