Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Network problem

  1. #11
    dino99's Avatar
    dino99 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Nux Jam
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Network problem

    on my side i've dropped NM since a while, too many headaches, and installed wicd.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    4,014
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Network problem

    Quote Originally Posted by cecilpierce View Post
    Just noticed the weather forecast comes up on boot and the router light flashes alot but firefox is dead until I restart networking, buggin the heck out of me.
    Do try in Terminal (ping or similar to see if network is working...) before restart-ing NM's net just to be sure where the problem lies, in FF or in NM, or elsewhere...
    Quote Originally Posted by dino99 View Post
    on my side i've dropped NM since a while, too many headaches, and installed wicd.
    As far as I can see OP is using WiredConnection so NM could be completely by-passed ...
    It is not difficult to edit several files and have network without NM even being awaken from a deep sleep...
    Last edited by zika; May 14th, 2012 at 06:51 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,236
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Network problem

    Quote Originally Posted by dino99 View Post
    on my side i've dropped NM since a while, too many headaches, and installed wicd.
    Installed wicd and it seems to be working fine.

    Thanks for the help.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    INDY
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Network problem

    That's not a solution, just a workaround...
    I have this problem on my PP fallback install,
    started late in dev cycle.

    Funny that I have quite a few other installs of LL, NN, OO, PP and QQ,
    without this problem, I would like to find a solution for a "stock" install
    But, that's just me.
    Castles Made of Sand,
    Fall in the Sea,
    Eventually!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,236
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Network problem

    Quote Originally Posted by arpanaut View Post
    That's not a solution, just a workaround...
    I have this problem on my PP fallback install,
    started late in dev cycle.

    Funny that I have quite a few other installs of LL, NN, OO, PP and QQ,
    without this problem, I would like to find a solution for a "stock" install
    But, that's just me.
    I agree with you but it was getting to be such a pain in the ars I had to try it, it was happening on PP and one of my QQ's.
    I flop around from one to another alot

    I guess the developers never restart there computers !
    Last edited by cecilpierce; May 15th, 2012 at 12:28 AM. Reason: PS

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Network problem

    I know not having a working network connection can be a big pain, but doing a bit of troubleshooting before using a work-around, would have been nice.

    We are here to test and report bugs, by installing a different network manager, you sort of bypass that process.

    Just for documentation purposes, it would be nice if anyone else runs into the problem, that they post the output of the following commands, if it seems that networking isn't working:

    Code:
    ifconfig
    This command allows use to see if an ip address has been obtained.

    Code:
    ping www.google.com
    This command will allow us to see if DNS is working properly, if the above command doesn't work then try:

    Code:
    ping 74.125.127.147
    If this command works, then it points to DNS not working properly. With this information, a bug can be filed with the proper information against network-manager

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,236
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Network problem

    @cariboo907

    Thanks, I try those and see what happens.

  8. #18
    dino99's Avatar
    dino99 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Nux Jam
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Network problem

    note that the newest resolvconf seems to help a bit with NM, get less "cant resolve url" errors.

    I'm having trouble with NM only with one PC having a sky2 chipset, other PC does not have issue as such.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Network problem

    My problem is that when my system is first started DNS works the way it should, but after a couple of hours, I get "can't resolve urls" messages too. This is on two systems using the same Nvidia based motherboard. The network adapter on these motherboards are bridge devices, and not an actual networking chip. I believe VinDSL, ran into the same sort of thing. I resolved my problem by setting a static ip address and entering the DNS addresses I use in Network-manager.

    Other systems I have using dynamic ip addresses don't have the problem.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,236
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Network problem

    This is 12.04, happens in one 12.10 and one other 12.10 works fine ?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •