Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My Notes for Installing MediaWiki on Ubuntu Server 12.04 LTS

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Post My Notes for Installing MediaWiki on Ubuntu Server 12.04 LTS

Greetings and salutations,

I hope this thread will be helpful to those who follow in my foot steps as well as getting any advice based on what I have done / documented.

This is a Work-In-Progress topic so I will be updating this thread as I learn more about Ubuntu and MediaWiki.

High-level overview

This thread will cover installation of a dedicated Ubuntu server, Apache Web service and MediaWiki web site. The server will be installed inside a virtual machine vSphere 4.1 running on ESXi 4.1 servers. Although there are some VMware-specific steps, they are very few and the majority of this documentation will work for other VMs such as VirtualBox or even directly installed onto a physical machine. Please excuse any ignorance on my part since I am fairly new to Linux and MediaWiki...if you have any advice on doing things better, please let me know. I love feedback and learning better ways of doing things!

After Ubuntu is installed and configured, Apache web server will be installed and configured. Next will be the installation and configuration of MediaWiki which will utilize an existing remote MySQL server. Some extensions will then be installed and tested.

The last step will cover some custom scripts to help automate tasks such as backing up, automatically growing the file system when free space is low, etc.

Tools utilized in this process

Helpful links

The list below are sources of information that helped me configure this system as well as some places that might be helpful to me later on as this process continues.

Assumptions