Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: compiz memory leak?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    13
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    compiz memory leak?

    This has happened a couple of times but this is the only time I managed to see what the cause of this problem. Before this when I leave my computer overnight and when I wake up the system already not responsive I'am not been able to turn wake my monitor from standby.

    This time I just go out for couple of hours and when I get back my computer already become sluggish. So a quick check with System Monitor I found out compiz is using 2.4GB from my total memory of 4GB and 100% swap was used.

    Anyway picture worth a thousand words. So here it is.


    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,906

    Re: compiz memory leak?

    Are you using the indicator-multiload? ( or similarly named

    If so then get rid of - it causes a continual mem leak in unity - if that's what you're using?

    There are some very small compiz leaks, mainly per use of the dash and the places, nothing that would cause anywhere what you see

    If inclined post - (put in a code box or attach text file
    Code:
    ps -A u
    Edit: as example - this machine has been online for about 8 hrs., lots of activities - compiz is only using around 100MB, this machine boots up @ about 75MB RSS

    $ pidstat -r -p ALL |grep compiz
    01:46:22 PM 3737 11.59 0.00 267728 99848 3.23 compiz
    Last edited by mc4man; May 14th, 2011 at 06:51 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    13
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: compiz memory leak?

    Hi thank you for the reply. I don't know what is indicator-multiload and I can't even find it on my system so I guess I don't have it installed.

    Anyway here is my ps -A u result

    http://pastebin.com/iEEFDGLL

    edit:
    ok before I make the first post I do compiz --replace and solve the 2.4GB memory usage and now here is my compiz memory usage, still climbing up.

    Code:
    pidstat -r -p ALL | grep compiz
    02:18:24 AM     19583      2.18      0.01  882692 296980   7.32  compiz
    Last edited by kuntau; May 14th, 2011 at 07:22 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,906

    Re: compiz memory leak?

    Well, whatever is setting compiz off is not normal.
    I think I'd start with a fresh boot, do nothing and see what happens w/ compiz (don't use system monitor to ck., either pidstat, free -m or htop
    If it starts climbing anyway then you'd want to disable unnecessary processes and then see if you can figure out what's causing.

    If it remains relatively static from a fresh start then start up things one at a time, ect.
    In that case use the pidstat as below but don't log, you'll be able to see in the terminal in realtime as you start things up

    You could set up a logging of comiz w/ pidstat though maybe not useful yet (get the pid, then something like this - 1st # is sec's between reports, 2nd is the number of reports
    pidstat -r -p XXXX 30 100 >> compiz_mem.log

    Would be interesting to see what you have right after a fresh boot (wait about 30 secs, if you wanted to re-run after a bit and append then use >> instead

    pidstat -r -p ALL > base_mem.log

    What is "indicator-virtualbox" and do you know why you have all these volume monitors running?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    13
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: compiz memory leak?

    Hi. I just reboot my machine so here is my current pidstat for compiz. I'm logging now using your command above and will report back.

    Code:
    03:29:26 AM      2116    182.62      0.01  705536 142160   3.50  compiz
    Indicator-virtualbox is some applet I got on taskbar (what should I call it? near the clock) for launching my vm.

    Sorry but what do you mean by volume monitor running? I got banshee running on background and I have MS SideWinder X6 keyboard with volume knob if that help.

    Thank you

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,906

    Re: compiz memory leak?

    you mean by volume monitor running?
    I see these 2, not familiar with
    /usr/lib/gvfs/gvfs-afc-volume-monitor
    /usr/lib/gvfs/gvfs-gphoto2-volume-monitor

    It still would be useful to see what was running at start up (from a fresh start, what I mentioned as the base_mem) Your 142MB above is a bit high, though that could depend on what's running at the start.

    Generally here on several different machines unity from fresh boot starts w/ comiz at between 70 - 85 MB.
    I fully expect it and several other processes (Xorg, nautilus, ect.) to rise a bit in RSS over the course of a session
    (some I believe is proper, some not so.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    13
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: compiz memory leak?

    Quote Originally Posted by mc4man View Post
    I see these 2, not familiar with
    /usr/lib/gvfs/gvfs-afc-volume-monitor
    /usr/lib/gvfs/gvfs-gphoto2-volume-monitor

    It still would be useful to see what was running at start up (from a fresh start, what I mentioned as the base_mem) Your 142MB above is a bit high, though that could depend on what's running at the start.

    Generally here on several different machines unity from fresh boot starts w/ comiz at between 70 - 85 MB.
    I fully expect it and several other processes (Xorg, nautilus, ect.) to rise a bit in RSS over the course of a session
    (some I believe is proper, some not so.
    To be honest I also don't know where it come from and I don't know how to track where it come from too

    Anyway after 2+ hours this is what I got.

    ps -A u > http://pastebin.com/DCXraLjV

    compiz memlog > http://pastebin.com/CKDrmxUj

    Code:
    05:47:48 AM      2116     21.08      0.00  719852 254976   6.28  compiz

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,906

    Re: compiz memory leak?

    Possibly I was confusing you - so to clear up?
    First forget about those volume monitors - I see them here, not important.

    There are small leaks in natty inc. compiz, but normally nothing close to approaching what you showed in post 1

    addon indicators can be suspect, the indicator-multiload is one example

    What I thought you should do -
    Restart to clear all, take a reading to establish what's running by default and how much mem in use.
    Leave the pc alone for a period of time and them take another reading (maybe an hr.
    ( if you have chrome starting by default than I'd disable for the moment
    Delete any logs and just use this to start and after a period of no activity run again to compare

    Code:
    free -m >> base_mem.log &&  pidstat -r -p ALL  >> base_mem.log

    If mem use has increased more than a small amount then something you're starting by default is the cause.
    If it hasn't, then start processes one by one, wait a bit and recheck just compiz itself to see if it starts going up significantly in the RSS value

    Some current open bugs
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ty/+bug/720446
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/indicator...ad/+bug/779717
    Last edited by mc4man; May 15th, 2011 at 12:27 AM. Reason: spelling

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: compiz memory leak?

    I have had my compiz take up ~13GB of Memory twice in the past two days. Doing `compiz --replace &` in a terminal temporarily fixes the issue.

    I do have the indicator-multiload running; I just uninstalled it and hopefully wont run into another problem. I cannot imagine 13GB being consumed by a little indicator, and will report back if I can narrow this consumption down.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    17
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: compiz memory leak?

    I get the same symptoms with filled RAM and swap several times a day. I've got 4GB RAM and 2GB swap. I upgraded the RAM a while ago but only noticed today I forgot to increase the swap space. That has not been a problem until I upgraded to Natty though since swap usage never went above 200MB before.

    I've previously been able to recover without a full reboot by killing compiz and restarting it. For some reason Unity/Compiz will not notice that my desktop is stretched across two windows with TwinView so I also have to swap back and forth too another resolution for Unity's element to reposition themselves correctly.

    Thanks to mc4man for the indicator-multiload tip and nlucaroni for the
    Code:
    compiz --replace &
    tip! It seems to have taken care of things for now.

    If killing indicator-multiload helped for you too, I suggest subscribing to https://bugs.launchpad.net/indicator...ad/+bug/779717 and also click the "This bug affects # people, does it affect you too?"-link.

    There's also https://bugs.launchpad.net/unity/+bug/720446 which seems interesting.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •