Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35

Thread: Running GNOME Shell on top of Unity2D

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Northern Michigan USA
    Beans
    1,680
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Running GNOME Shell on top of Unity2D

    I get this error. I do have Unity installed and am running 12.04 classic 64 bit.

    Code:
    cmcanulty@HPTech:~$ unity-shell-2d --replace
    unity-shell-2d: command not found
    cmcanulty@HPTech:~$
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    47
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: Running GNOME Shell on top of Unity2D

    My sincere apology. I have corrected the command in the previous post

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Northern Michigan USA
    Beans
    1,680
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Running GNOME Shell on top of Unity2D

    Great I got it up and running , is there a way to autohide it as I tried right click and nothing happened. I really want dash and not launcher but I can live with both if it autohides thanks!

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    47
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: Running GNOME Shell on top of Unity2D

    Quote Originally Posted by cmcanulty View Post
    Great I got it up and running , is there a way to autohide it as I tried right click and nothing happened. I really want dash and not launcher but I can live with both if it autohides thanks!
    you can follow this guide here http://forum.pinguyos.com/Thread-Gno...17416#pid17416

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Northern Michigan USA
    Beans
    1,680
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Running GNOME Shell on top of Unity2D

    I now have another bug. I am running classic and the launcher sort of autohides but when it hides it becomes an empty blank launcher and covers the edge of firefox or anything else. See screenshot and please how do I fix? I also tried removing launcher in synaptic and a restart and the empty launcher is still there I see the correct launcher if I mouse over left edge but can't have the big empty space there all the time.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by cmcanulty; November 12th, 2012 at 07:46 PM.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    47
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: Running GNOME Shell on top of Unity2D

    Quote Originally Posted by cmcanulty View Post
    I now have another bug. I am running classic and the launcher sort of autohides but when it hides it becomes an empty blank launcher and covers the edge of firefox or anything else. See screenshot and please how do I fix? I also tried removing launcher in synaptic and a restart and the empty launcher is still there I see the correct launcher if I mouse over left edge but can't have the big empty space there all the time.
    + Create a text file with the below content and save it as unity2d.sh

    #!/bin/sh

    sleep 3 && unity-2d-shell
    + Open a terminal right where you save the file and

    Code:
    chmod +x unity2d.sh
    Or just right click on the file >> Properties and make it executable if you're using Nautilus.

    + Open startup manager, delete the old command (the one with unity-2d-shell) and put in the path to the text file you've just created in the command box. That will delay unity-2d-shell 3 seconds and give time for compiz manager to start first.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Northern Michigan USA
    Beans
    1,680
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Running GNOME Shell on top of Unity2D

    OK I did that will update after work right now there is no launcher at all
    still very buggy I have no launcher or dash at all now.I logged out and in and restarted.
    Last edited by cmcanulty; November 13th, 2012 at 03:15 PM.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    29
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Running GNOME Shell on top of Unity2D

    woww. excellent info and work. thanks.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    47
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: Running GNOME Shell on top of Unity2D

    Quote Originally Posted by cmcanulty View Post
    OK I did that will update after work right now there is no launcher at all
    still very buggy I have no launcher or dash at all now.I logged out and in and restarted.
    If 3s doesn't work, try 5s The problem is unity-2d-shell must start after compiz. After a while using unity, it gets fatter (with recently used files, and app suggestions) therefore it may take for than 3s to load all those stuff. I suggest you remove some lens that you don't use (work around with unity-2d packages in synaptic). However, it will be simpler to just log out and log back (provided you have the script running to delay unity).

    Quote Originally Posted by ercherramon View Post
    woww. excellent info and work. thanks.
    Thanks
    Last edited by vanlong441; November 13th, 2012 at 04:48 PM.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Northern Michigan USA
    Beans
    1,680
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Running GNOME Shell on top of Unity2D

    I cannot get the launcher at all now, anything else to try? I did increase the delay to 5 and logged out and restarted.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •