Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CD tray opens

Beans

CD tray opens

The CD-R tray keeps opening on my mini-tower for no apparent reason.

I am currently running Ubuntu 12.04 LTS after having tried 11.10 for about 6 weeks. The tray opened on 11.10 as well. My system also has a DVD drive which does not open.

My system is an older (5-6 years) min-tower which used to run Win-XP. It has an Intel Celeron 2.4GHz CPU with 1GB RAM. Apart from being a Genuine Intel motherboard, I don't know the exact model.

The CD-Writer is a Maxtor 34098H4 MAXTOR 6L080J4 - tray opens.

The DVD drive is a CR-4804TE HITACHI DVD-ROM GD-7500 - normal behavior.

The CD tray opens whether I'm using the computer or not. My work-around is to leave a CD-ROM in the drive - with a disk in the tray, it does not seem to open. In all other respects, both optical drives work properly.

Has anyone else seen this? Any suggestions for a fix? I am new to Ubuntu so I will need step by step instructions

Thanks

Beans

Re: CD tray opens

it also happens to me, with an old samsung dvd read/write drive

I'm on 11.10

Beans

Exclamation Re: CD tray opens

Sorry to be a "me too!". This did not happen on any earlier versions for me. It is rather annoying, especially as it happens intermittently and not on a regular schedule.

Can someone figure out what process may do this and if so in what logfile to look?

With many many thanks in advance,
    /Lindus

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

Check if someone's pranking you.
    I once added a bootscript to my friends pc that listens to the keyboard and opens/closes the tray when you pressed certain keys (it was the first of april, we both had a good laugh about it).
    "Everything that has a beginning, has an end." --an unexpectedly wise wallpaper

Beans

Exclamation Re: CD tray opens

Quote Originally Posted by roelforg View Post
    Check if someone's pranking you.