Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 70

Thread: modem-manager not working

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: modem-manager not working

    Quote Originally Posted by ProNux View Post
    With your permission, I ought to join this thread.

    I have a similar case, though I have a different modem. The drivers were loaded and I can connect to the internet, but it does not retain; I have to enter the same commands whenever I plug the modem. Can you please post how to load the drivers every time the modem is connected.

    Thanks in advance.
    Here is a sample
    Remember to change the ID's according to the device Highlighted in blue , as listed by the (lsusb) command
    Code:
    sudo su
    Code:
    gedit /usr/bin/option_1C9E:9605
    add code : Remember to change the ID's according to the device Highlighted in blue , as listed by the (lsusb) command
    Code:
    #! /bin/bash
    echo 1C9E 9605 > /sys/bus/usb-serial/drivers/option1/new_id
    save the file and exit gedit
    Code:
    chmod +x /usr/bin/option_1C9E:9605
    Code:
    gedit /etc/udev/rules.d/option.rules
    add the code: Remember to edit the device Id's according to your device , note the lowercase letters !!!! IE , c , not C :
    Code:
    ATTRS{idVendor}=="1c9e", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9605", RUN+="/sbin/modprobe option"
    ATTRS{idVendor}=="1c9e", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9605", RUN+="/usr/bin/option_1C9E:9605"
    save and exit

    if not loading try re-plugging the device
    Last edited by alexfish; May 2nd, 2012 at 10:16 PM. Reason: code missing Oops
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    89
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: modem-manager not working

    thanks for the help. Alexfish.
    marking this as solved.
    thanks again.
    HP G42-356TU 4GB-RAM, 500GB-HDD
    DUAL BOOT:
    Primary : KUBUNTU 14.04 (TRUSTY) 64bit
    Secondary : DEEPIN 2014 64 Bit

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Filipinas; Formosa
    Beans
    201
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: modem-manager not working

    Thanks Alexfish, it worked on my modem too!8)
    i5-750/P55-UD3P/HD4850 1GB DDR3/4GB DDR3 A-Data Ubuntu 11.04 x64 Natty/Igelle 1.0.0 DSV /Windows7 x64 (for gaming)

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: modem-manager not working

    I have a vodafone K3806 stick, which works on my sons windows 7 pc.

    I'm still getting the segmentation error. I have downloaded the i386 version of sagis 3G for my eeepc 1011 running xubuntu 12.04.

    the usb-devices commend gives following output:
    Code:
    T:  Bus=01 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#=  5 Spd=480 MxCh= 0
    D:  Ver= 2.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
    P:  Vendor=12d1 ProdID=14ae Rev=01.02
    S:  Manufacturer=Vodafone Group (Huawei)
    S:  Product=Vodafone Mobile Broadband (Huawei)
    S:  SerialNumber=0
    C:  #Ifs= 4 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=500mA
    I:  If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 3 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=ff Driver=option
    I:  If#= 1 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=02(commc) Sub=06 Prot=ff Driver=(none)
    I:  If#= 2 Alt= 0 #EPs= 3 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=ff Driver=option
    I:  If#= 3 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage
    so it looks like I have a driver right?

    the other command gives
    Code:
    kris@kris-1011PX:~$ ls -al /dev/serial/by-id
    totaal 0
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 80 mei  4 21:20 .
    drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 80 mei  4 21:20 ..
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13 mei  4 21:20 usb-Vodafone_Group__Huawei__Vodafone_Mobile_Broadband__Huawei__0-if00-port0 -> ../../ttyUSB0
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13 mei  4 21:20 usb-Vodafone_Group__Huawei__Vodafone_Mobile_Broadband__Huawei__0-if02-port0 -> ../../ttyUSB1
    lsusb gives
    Code:
    Bus 001 Device 005: ID 12d1:14ae Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.
    after making the option file and option.rules with 12D1 and 14AE

    the usb-devices command gives
    Code:
    T:  Bus=01 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#=  7 Spd=480 MxCh= 0
    D:  Ver= 2.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
    P:  Vendor=12d1 ProdID=14ae Rev=01.02
    S:  Manufacturer=Vodafone Group (Huawei)
    S:  Product=Vodafone Mobile Broadband (Huawei)
    S:  SerialNumber=0
    C:  #Ifs= 4 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=500mA
    I:  If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 3 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=ff Driver=option
    I:  If#= 1 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=02(commc) Sub=06 Prot=ff Driver=option
    I:  If#= 2 Alt= 0 #EPs= 3 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=ff Driver=option
    I:  If#= 3 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage
    but the ./sakis3g --interactive command still results in a segmentation fault after connect with 3G is selected

    Sorry for riding along, but any help would be very much appreciated.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: modem-manager not working

    @kridybel

    not sure if i386 would make any different , may only apply to modeswitch , but not sure

    but can check the system build with this command
    Code:
    echo SYSTEM_BIT=$($(which getconf) LONG_BIT)
    should see 32 or 64 , this will then suggest which sakis3g to download

    coincidently , can you connect with Network Manager.

    as regards sakis3g the script nearly always works its Bash , so only aspect to look at here is Chat
    don't know if chat checks certain parts of the modem , or waits for certain signals ,

    have posted methods of using terminal as serial port , look at resent posts regarding these devices

    alexfish
    Last edited by alexfish; May 4th, 2012 at 10:46 PM.
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    89
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: modem-manager not working

    kridybel
    It seems that your modem is been detected. I think u should try to connect to the internet via the network-manager. Sakis3G still gives me segmentation fault and core dumped error messages. But the gnome network manager works fine for me. Hope that yours will be good too.
    HP G42-356TU 4GB-RAM, 500GB-HDD
    DUAL BOOT:
    Primary : KUBUNTU 14.04 (TRUSTY) 64bit
    Secondary : DEEPIN 2014 64 Bit

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: modem-manager not working

    echo SYSTEM_BIT=$($(which getconf) LONG_BIT)
    gave 32 so the I386 should have been the right one

    The strange thing is that in my network manager the usb modem has always been detected as mobile broadband modem.

    The wizard opens, the modem is suggested, i make the selections for country and apn. When I try to make a connection the waiting wheel spins for a couple of minutes.

    If I click on the network manager while spinning there is a small icon next to my connection name, which seems to indicate that there is a signal, but I do not get connected.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    89
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: modem-manager not working

    May be your operator's network has some problem.
    Try for a few times again. Is that working on your sons's lappy?
    What's the signal quality.
    Mine's also doesn't work sometimes. Replugs it and it works again.
    HP G42-356TU 4GB-RAM, 500GB-HDD
    DUAL BOOT:
    Primary : KUBUNTU 14.04 (TRUSTY) 64bit
    Secondary : DEEPIN 2014 64 Bit

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    A world without windows
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: modem-manager not working

    Quote Originally Posted by kridybel View Post
    echo SYSTEM_BIT=$($(which getconf) LONG_BIT)
    gave 32 so the I386 should have been the right one

    The strange thing is that in my network manager the usb modem has always been detected as mobile broadband modem.

    The wizard opens, the modem is suggested, i make the selections for country and apn. When I try to make a connection the waiting wheel spins for a couple of minutes.

    If I click on the network manager while spinning there is a small icon next to my connection name, which seems to indicate that there is a signal, but I do not get connected.
    Have looked further into this Message :RE: segmentation fault ,

    may be emanating from the pppd , and not chat

    from old bugs reports , needed to find if certain file exists on the system
    the code to find if file exist is
    Code:
    file="/var/run/pppd.tdb"
    if [ -f "$file" ]
    then
        echo "$file found."
    else
        echo "$file not found."
    fi
    Two tin cans are better than an iphone

    http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_2067160_ma...hone.html?cr=1

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    20

    Smile Re: modem-manager not working

    Hi,
    got exactly the same Problem with the XS Stick P14 (1c9e:9605). After hours of searching for a solution, I did the following:
    1) First tell networtk-manager, he should remember the PIN for the SIM-Card. This will be important for step 3!
    2) Adding the following line in /etc/rc.local:
    Code:
    modprobe usbserial vendor=0x1c9e product=0x9605
    This switches the stick from datastore-mode into the modem-mode.
    3) Added a script with the following in auto-start:
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    sleep 75
    nmcli nm wwan on
    This gets around the bug of the network-manager, which disables the mobile broadband after every restart. Don't be suprised about the 75 seconds wait. The USB-Stick takes up to 55 Seconds to initialisize after typing in the pin for the sim. Additionally the networkmanager is launched after the script started and it will need a few seconds to start itself. So adding at this point 20 seconds is safe, you might try up to 10 seconds, but that might fail. Will definitive fail, if you skipped point 1!
    4) (Optional) Configure the mobile connection to connect automatically

    Works so far, but fails, when unplugging the stick. I thought, I'll have to live with this, but then I was searching for something different and found this. I tried your advise which is described in post 11 and now replugging works. OK, it woks not 100% I still have to re-enable mobile broadband, by typing in
    Code:
    nmcli nm wwan on
    but hey, I don't have to restart the whole machine anymore
    Last edited by rienesl; May 6th, 2012 at 01:00 AM.

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •