Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 55

Thread: Can I downgrade?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Darkstar
    Beans
    358

    Can I downgrade?

    I've got QQ on my computer but I was wondering if I could go to Precise from Quantal without reinstallation.
    CrunchBang Linux
    Plz no tpe lik dis or no anser!!
    The search tool can be found in the upper right corner of your screen, please use it to your advantage, especially before asking questions.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    /
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can I downgrade?

    Quote Originally Posted by codingman View Post
    I've got QQ on my computer but I was wondering if I could go to Precise from Quantal without reinstallation.
    Yep Yep and Hoh-hoi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Darkstar
    Beans
    358

    Re: Can I downgrade?

    But, how?
    CrunchBang Linux
    Plz no tpe lik dis or no anser!!
    The search tool can be found in the upper right corner of your screen, please use it to your advantage, especially before asking questions.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    3,037
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Can I downgrade?

    In my opinion, it is the same as for 12.04 vs. 11.10, you can't downgrade.

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1903087

    But maybe there is a way I don't know of.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Beans
    2,455
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Can I downgrade?

    At this early point of development (only a couple of Quantal packages published) it is possible to downgrade to Precise.
    You need to manually download the Precise version of every single package you have upgraded to Quantal. Perhaps from 10 to 20 packages.
    Then, (for example with terminal) go to the folder they were downloaded to and run this:
    Code:
    sudo dpkg -i *.deb

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Darkstar
    Beans
    358

    Re: Can I downgrade?

    I'm no expert, so I have no idea how to locate the upgraded packages and then install the Precise version of each of those.
    CrunchBang Linux
    Plz no tpe lik dis or no anser!!
    The search tool can be found in the upper right corner of your screen, please use it to your advantage, especially before asking questions.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    4,373
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can I downgrade?

    if you know when you upgraded , open synaptic , then go to file>history that should tell you the names of the upgraded packages . You would probably be better off backing up your /home and doing a reinstall though , downgrades can get really messy . back up your /home anyway .
    if it ain't broke you haven't tweaked it enough

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Beans
    2,455
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Can I downgrade?

    Quote Originally Posted by codingman View Post
    I'm no expert, so I have no idea how to locate the upgraded packages and then install the Precise version of each of those.
    Well, after all, sorry to say this but you should have upgraded to Quantal only if you were an expert.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    6,803
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can I downgrade?

    This suggestion is entirely experimental. I have never done it. You might be the first to try.

    First of all, do you have another version of Ubuntu that you can boot into if something goes wrong.

    I have an 11.10 that I use a standby. I have 12.04 on another partition that I have now begun converting to 12.10.

    In a few days, when the rush has died down, I shall upgrade my 11.10 to 12.04 and it will be my standby as I use this 12.04/12.10.

    These were the two commands that I used to convert a 12.04 to 12.10

    Code:
    sudo sed -i 's/precise/quantal/g' /etc/apt/sources.list
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    You could reverse the first command to

    Code:
    sudo sed -i 's/quantal/precise/g' /etc/apt/sources.list
    and then run

    [CODE]
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    if that don't work try

    Code:
    sudo apt-get upgrade
    By changing the repositories to quantal and then updating and upgrading we brought in the packages that were available in the quantal repositories.

    Now, by changing the repositories back to precise you may find that what was brought in is removed. I am sure that you will need to put your repositories back to precise.

    But as I say, none of this is based upon experience.

    Regards.
    It is a machine. It is more stupid than we are. It will not stop us from doing stupid things.
    Ubuntu user #33,200. Linux user #530,530


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Darkstar
    Beans
    358

    Re: Can I downgrade?

    Quote Originally Posted by Harry33 View Post
    Well, after all, sorry to say this but you should have upgraded to Quantal only if you were an expert.
    I've only been testing future releases once before, and that was for 12.04,in which you could not downgrade unless you reinstalled, therefore i never learned how to downgrade. On the other hand I do know some shell, and everyone has to start somewhere.
    CrunchBang Linux
    Plz no tpe lik dis or no anser!!
    The search tool can be found in the upper right corner of your screen, please use it to your advantage, especially before asking questions.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •