Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 12.04 NO SOUND in my regular user session but it's ok in guest user gnome sesion.

Beans

Angry [SOLVED]12.04 NO SOUND in regular user session but ok in guest user gnome session.

I'm new to Ubuntu, forgive me not to read completely and practice the Sound Troubleshooting thread on the top, since it doesn't suggest compatible with 12.04

After install this latest LTS and follow the post installation guide from http://www.my-guides.net/en/guides/l...allation-guide

Seems that everything is fine, except for no sound (of music/movie player or system alert). Well, I found that if I switch to a guest user with standard Gnome session. The sound is OK.

The Sound Settings GUI is a little different and the output device is different, my regular user session w/o sound says on Output tab is "Play sound through - Digital Output(S/PDIF)"
    while the guest user gnome session w/ sound says on the same tab is "Choose a device for sound output - Build-in Audio Analog Stereo". Apparently, the former one is not normal, and it seems that in this session no audio device is found.

I uploaded the 2 screenshots.

Can anybody give me some hints? Thanks in advance!

p.s.
    In case of any mis-configuration (I don't think so), I reinstall 12.04, and still the same.

Here is my audio information, if somebody may tell me some possible reasons from it.
    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=23...8d0f516490f283

I read it through, but got no reasonable doubt..
    my audio device is not supported by alsa? 82801H (ICH8 Family)

well, btw, during investigation on my ubuntu, I noticed that under
    /proc/asound/card0/pcm0c/sub0,
    all hw_param or info or status files show "closed" status. is this why no sound hardware tab in the Sound Settings GUI and no "Analog Stereo" in output tab? If so, how can I open it?

Still, thanks in advance.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by appleater; April 30th, 2012 at 04:04 PM. Reason: Solved

Beans