Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Asus eeePC R11CX resolution fiasco

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    4

    Post Asus eeePC R11CX resolution fiasco

    Hey everyone,

    First off: this is the first time I'm posting here, and believe me, I'm doing it as a last resort. If the subject's been discussed (which it has) and a solution was found (not to my knowledge), please excuse me.

    Here's the deal:

    My netbook's* display's EDID is not communicating well with the system, thus limiting its resolution at 800x600, even though both the graphics chip (Intel GMA 3150) and the display support 1024x600.

    I've tried everything I could think of, including messing with xrandr, the xorg.conf file, live booting Puppy Linux and Fedora, etc. On all instances, the only possible resolution is 800x600. Except on the preinstalled Windows 7 distribution, which is doomed to be erased.

    Here's the lspci output [excerpt]:
    Code:
    user@R11CX:~$ lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Atom Processor D2xxx/N2xxx DRAM Controller (rev 03)
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Atom Processor D2xxx/N2xxx Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
    And the xrandr output:
    Code:
    user@R11CX:~$ xrandr
    xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
    Screen 0: minimum 800 x 600, current 800 x 600, maximum 800 x 600
    default connected 800x600+0+0 0mm x 0mm
      800x600         0.0*
    Should the need arise, I will gladly add any additional information.

    Thank you very much!

    *Asus eeePC R11CX - click on "caractéristiques techniques" to view its specs.
    Last edited by Malcolm Isaacson; April 28th, 2012 at 04:25 PM. Reason: typo

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Asus eeePC R11CX resolution fiasco

    anyone?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    1

    Re: Asus eeePC R11CX resolution fiasco


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Asus eeePC R11CX resolution fiasco

    Thank you!

    But the procedure comes short at its first stage already; I don't know my monitor's HorizSync and VertRefresh.

    I'll dig into it tough. In any case, thanks for your reply!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Troy, PA
    Beans
    64
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Asus eeePC R11CX resolution fiasco

    I'm having the exact same issue with my Samsung N102SP Netbook - same chipset:

    Intel Corporation Atom Processor D2xxx/N2xxx Integrated Graphics

    Any solution yet?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Asus eeePC R11CX resolution fiasco

    Still not... sorry

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Asus eeePC R11CX resolution fiasco

    +1

    ASUS eee pc Intel D2xxx

    Tried this but did not work: http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.p...art=15#p436455

    Will resintall Ubuntu again and start over. If anyone finds the fix, could you please post it here?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    1

    Re: Asus eeePC R11CX resolution fiasco

    Did you ever come up with a solution to this? I have the same Asus netbook model, just struggled for the last day to get Ubuntu installed, and now that it's working I have this same resolution issue. How in the world to get this HorizSync and VertRefresh info??

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: Asus eeePC R11CX resolution fiasco

    Although I just have a Debian/Wheezy system here I wanted to let you know that I have Asus EeePC 1008 which also just brought up only a resolution of 800x600... After trying a lot of things I installed the latest grml-kernel (3.7-1-grml-amd64)[1], rebooted and finally got my full resolution of 1024x600.

    [1] http://grml.org

    If you need any help installing the grml-kernel please let me know.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Asus eeePC R11CX resolution fiasco

    I have asus 1015CX cedartrail. I have found that fedora18 works in its default install. I have installed fedora_xfce 32bit. Everything worked out of the box.
    "Evolution is Nature's way of issuing upgrades."

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •