Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 158

Thread: Netgear WNA3100 issues

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    31

    Re: Netgear WNA3100 issues

    Right, installed new drivers. I did get and error whilst installing:
    Code:
    couldn't find SourceDiskFiles section - continuing anyway
    ...
    Is this an error my end or with the drivers or ndiswrapper?
    I am still getting nothing under iwconfig.
    Are there any other commands I need to run other than
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -i driver.inf
    ?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    20,104
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Netgear WNA3100 issues

    It's a big finger-pointing conflict between ndiswrapper and Broadcom. I don't believe the comes-on-the-disc .inf file works with 64-bit. Some enterprising person emailed Broadcom and they sent along bcmn43xx64.inf and the accessory .cat and .sys files tweaked for ndiswrapper. The trouble is, in many cases, that doesn't work either!

    I noticed it said 'continuing anyway.' Any useful clues in here:
    Code:
    dmesg | grep ndis
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    31

    Re: Netgear WNA3100 issues

    I get:
    Code:
    [    11.488405] ndiswrapper version 1.57 loaded (smp=yes) (preempt=no) 
    [    14.245972] ndiswrapper (check_nt_hdr:141): kernel is 64 bit, but Windows driver is not 64 bit;bad magic: 010B 
    [    14.245977] ndiswrapper (load_sys_files:199): couldn't load driver 'bcmwlhigh5' 
    [    14.246054] ndiswrapper (load_wrap_driver:121): couldn't load driver 'bcmwlhigh5' 
    [    14.246153] usbcore: registered new interface driver ndiswrapper

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    20,104
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Netgear WNA3100 issues

    My friend, I have been working on this for hours, both for you and other clients. I'm sure a Google search for WNA3100 and 64-bit will find dozens of my threads. I am not able to find any working 64-bit install. I am not sure it's even possible.

    You could reinstall a 32-bit system and I'm very confident it will work perfectly. You could buy a different device. I don't really have any other answer for you.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Netgear WNA3100 issues

    Wait i have the same problem and i was wondering if u could give me full instructions.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    20,104
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Netgear WNA3100 issues

    Quote Originally Posted by michael495 View Post
    Wait i have the same problem and i was wondering if u could give me full instructions.
    Did you read my post above?
    I'm sure a Google search for WNA3100 and 64-bit will find dozens of my threads. I am not able to find any working 64-bit install. I am not sure it's even possible.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Netgear WNA3100 issues

    Using the following I was able to get my netgear WNA3100 to show up: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=97610


    root@desktop:/home/edward/Downloads# lsusb | grep NetGear
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0846:9020 NetGear, Inc. WNA3100(v1) Wireless-N 300 [Broadcom BCM43231]


    root@desktop:/home/edward/Downloads# iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    wlan1 IEEE 802.11g ESSIDff/any
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:300 Mb/s Tx-Power:32 dBm
    RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
    Encryption keyff
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    This is on a 64bit AMD machine:

    root@desktop:/home/edward/Downloads# uname -a
    Linux desktop 3.2.0-23-generic #36-Ubuntu SMP Tue Apr 10 20:39:51 UTC 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    I am however struggling to get it to connect to a network that uses WPA/WPA2, it just kicks out the password which I know is right as my Ralink dongle can connect. If I disable security on the router it can connect though. This has me stumped right now, anyone come across that problem before?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Netgear WNA3100 issues

    Fixed the password problem, well at least I know that it's caused by using N, switched my router to just use b/g and it's now allowing my adapter to connect

    I've also upgraded the version of ndiswrapper mentioned in that post on linuxmint to 1.9 and made it so modprobe kicks the fob into action on bootup by adding ndiswrapper to /etc/modules

    Now to find a fix for the N Protocol and i'll be happy

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    31

    Re: Netgear WNA3100 issues

    Quick question, will running 32 bit allow me to utilise the most of 3Gb of RAM? If so I will do a 32bit re-install

    Thanks for all your help and time, Chilli555, I am most grateful for your help with this matter.


  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    20,104
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Netgear WNA3100 issues

    Quote Originally Posted by mathsgeek View Post
    Quick question, will running 32 bit allow me to utilise the most of 3Gb of RAM? If so I will do a 32bit re-install

    Thanks for all your help and time, Chilli555, I am most grateful for your help with this matter.

    Absolutely, with a PAE kernel. Here is mine:
    chili@LAPTOP60:~$ uname -r
    3.2.0-24-generic-pae
    chili@LAPTOP60:~$ arch
    i686
    chili@LAPTOP60:~$ free
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 3914368 1045580 2868788 0 107972 540948
    -/+ buffers/cache: 396660 3517708
    Swap: 6914044 0 6914044
    The install ought to install a PAE kernel by default, but, if not, you can install it from Synaptic immediately.

    I am happy to help. I look forward to our next steps.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •