Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: How to edit CDRip settings in Rhythmbox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Uruguay
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    How to edit CDRip settings in Rhythmbox

    Hello,

    I'M trying to edit the mp3 rip settings in rhythmbox in order to increase the quality to 320 kbs, but the edit button is locked.

    Any help please?

    Thanks.-

    http://ubuntuone.com/2q57AjQi0btIs258sabCbe
    Last edited by Marcelo Ramone; April 25th, 2012 at 10:48 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Uruguay
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How to edit CDRip settings in Rhythmbox


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,741

    Re: How to edit CDRip settings in Rhythmbox

    wouldn't hurt to say what release of ubuntu you are using
    (RB cd ripping is pretty crappy in 11.10, a bit better in 12.04 as far as retrieving track info

    In both you would need to create a .psr & enable the preset in RB, written slightly different depending on which ubuntu

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Uruguay
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How to edit CDRip settings in Rhythmbox

    Hello,

    I'M using 12.04

    Can you please explain about how to "create a .psr & enable the preset in RB" ?

    Thank you.-

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,741

    Re: How to edit CDRip settings in Rhythmbox

    This will be appearing it a RB update next month, if it allows more than 1 at a time per profile I'm not sure - currently doesn't.

    In this case I'm going to name the preset 'high', the update will use something else like '12:04-default'

    Code:
    sudo gedit /usr/share/rhythmbox/rhythmbox.gep
    add the line I've marked in blue, save

    [GStreamer Encoding Target]
    name = rhythmbox
    category = muh
    description = Common encoding profiles for Rhythmbox

    [profile-mp3]
    name = mp3
    description = MPEG Layer 3 Audio
    format = application/x-id3
    type = container

    [streamprofile-mp3-1]
    parent = mp3
    type = audio
    format = audio/mpeg, mpegversion=1, layer=3
    presence = 1
    preset=high

    .....clipped
    Code:
    mkdir -p ~/.gstreamer-0.10/presets
    Code:
    gedit ~/.gstreamer-0.10/presets/GstLameMP3Enc.prs
    Example of VBR this is crafted to use VBR @ a quality of 1
    Code:
    [_presets_]
    element-name=GstLameMP3Enc
    version=0.10.36
    
    [high]
    name=lamemp3enc
    perfect-timestamp=false
    hard-resync=false
    tolerance=40000000
    target=Quality
    cbr=false
    quality=1
    encoding-engine-quality=Standard
    mono=false
    If you want a different VBR then adjust the
    quality=1


    Ex. of a CBR .prs, set to 320
    Code:
    [_presets_]
    element-name=GstLameMP3Enc
    version=0.10.36
    
    [high]
    name=lamemp3enc
    perfect-timestamp=false
    hard-resync=false
    tolerance=40000000
    target=Bitrate
    bitrate=320
    cbr=true
    encoding-engine-quality=Standard
    mono=false

    Available options & parameters can be seen in this from terminal
    Code:
    gst-inspect lamemp3enc
    ATM you can only have 1 profile for mp3 & 1 preset (from what I can figure out

    If when opening music > preferences in RB it then says you need to install ... then you made a mistake

    Bug I had on where you can get the .gep & .prs as currently planned, posted the above to show what I use Atm, (VBR @1 & to help get the deal

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ox/+bug/945987
    Last edited by mc4man; June 4th, 2012 at 07:02 AM. Reason: spelling, removed a paremeter in mp3

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Uruguay
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Smile Re: How to edit CDRip settings in Rhythmbox

    Excellent!

    I've been looking for something like this for a long time and could not find it!

    Finally an effective solution!

    I've tested and works 100%

    Thank you!

    http://ubuntuone.com/1kWeAtNCFigB5CxSW7zalN
    Last edited by Marcelo Ramone; April 26th, 2012 at 02:22 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,741

    Re: How to edit CDRip settings in Rhythmbox

    I've applied the same idea to vorbis, add the preset to the .gep

    Code:
    sudo gedit /usr/share/rhythmbox/rhythmbox.gep
    Add blue
    Code:
    [profile-oggvorbis]
    name = oggvorbis
    description = Ogg Vorbis
    format = application/ogg
    type = container
    
    [streamprofile-oggvorbis-1]
    parent = oggvorbis
    type = audio
    format = audio/x-vorbis
    presence = 1
    preset=Default
    & then
    Code:
    gedit ~/.gstreamer-0.10/presets/GstVorbisEnc.prs
    Vorbis in gnome/gstreamer now defaults to 0.3 - not good

    Ex. of q = 0.8
    Code:
    [_presets_]
    element-name=GstVorbisEnc
    version=0.10.36
    
    [Default]
    name=vorbisenc
    perfect-timestamp=true
    hard-resync=false
    tolerance=40000000
    quality=0.8
    managed=false
    Last edited by mc4man; May 16th, 2012 at 07:55 AM. Reason: added gedit for .gep

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How to edit CDRip settings in Rhythmbox

    Hello,

    Thanks for this, but just to be clear: this does in no way gets back the "Settings" button (or Edit, not sure my locale is not English) in the Rhythmbox preferences, right? To change settings we need to modify the .prs file?

    How could such a huge regression happen?!? And how can those guys consider this bug fixed?!?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,741

    Re: How to edit CDRip settings in Rhythmbox

    Quote Originally Posted by Gemnoc View Post
    Hello,

    Thanks for this, but just to be clear: this does in no way gets back the "Settings" button (or Edit, not sure my locale is not English) in the Rhythmbox preferences, right? To change settings we need to modify the .prs file?
    In the RB version in 12.04, correct. The 'fix' was to create an override to the absolute crap new Gnome defaults for mp3 & vorbis. These 2 overrides would be the 'new' defaults, as in what you'd get without doing anything.
    To change from the new ubuntu-default presets you'd need to create a .prs as described

    Quote Originally Posted by Gemnoc View Post
    How could such a huge regression happen?!? And how can those guys consider this bug fixed?!?
    Ask the Gnome devs

    In the 12.10 RB there now is a 'settings' option in RB that we'll create a custom preset, the setting allows one to alter the quality.
    (in 12.10 -
    Default is crappy Gnome presets
    ubuntu-default are the new override presets as seen in 12.04
    Custom is whatever you wish

    Seems a bit confusing I'm sure - that's one reason why that bug report (was my report), got a little 'out of hand' & probably requires reading a couple of times to seperate out 12.04 & 12.10 which have slightly differing fixes.
    (plus other apps got involved to further muddle

    Screen shows RB in 12.10

    (note that banshee uses it's own settings now & may be a little better - third party ripper/encoders like rubyripper, asunder are superior, ect.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How to edit CDRip settings in Rhythmbox

    Thanks for your explanations, mc4man. I hadn't realized you were the bug reporter.

    You're right, that bug report ended up being a total mess - and I find unfathomable the Ubuntu dev consider the issue "fixed". It may be the Gnome devs' fault, but end result is, "fix" or not, the button still stays greyed out, and the only way to change the quality settings is to create a text file inside a hidden folder. How is the regular Ubuntu user to know about that if he does not make a search... And that's for an LTS to boot. This is a deep usability regression. Unfathomable I say. The real fix in Ubuntu 12.10 should be backported to 12.04.

    I have tried Asunder and it can't even detect audio cds. Sound Juicer does not have any way to change settings. Your fix works, many thanks for that. I may try Banshee.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •