Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Virtualbox and Windows 7 Aero effects

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    112

    Virtualbox and Windows 7 Aero effects

    Hi,

    I'm trying to make VIrtualbox work with Windows 7's Aero Peek effects, but am having little luck.

    I believe the issue is with the graphics driver not supporting it, or not being signed by Microsoft. Is there a known way around this, or a better driver I can use? I've had a Google but so far I'm finding plenty of issues with no fixes.

    Cheers!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7 Aero effects

    Hi,

    I have the same issue. Virtualbox's maximum video size is 256mb, so unfortunately some options of aero dont work.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    112

    Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7 Aero effects

    Quote Originally Posted by ronaldbrijo View Post
    Hi,

    I have the same issue. Virtualbox's maximum video size is 256mb, so unfortunately some options of aero dont work.
    Oh, right, so it isn't actually the driver then?

    Does Windows need 256MB of graphics RAM in order to use Aero?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    LOCATION=/dev/random
    Beans
    5,767
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7 Aero effects

    You can run Aero under VirtualBox, but its not that straightforward.

    First make sure you have given the machine 128MB or more of video RAM and enabled 2D and 3D effects.

    Then you have to install the VirtualBox Guest Additions inside Windows 7.

    To get 3D support though this has to be done in safe mode as it replaces some Windows system files, so hit F8 when you boot the VM. Then select Devices > Install Guest Additions from the VM menu, this will mount the required ISO. Fire up the CD from Windows Explorer and the installation will start.

    When you select the 3D support checkbox a dialog will pop up, make sure you click No at this point or only the 2D drivers will be installed. Click on install, let the machine reboot, and hey-presto you can enable Aero.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Cheesemill

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7 Aero effects



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    112

    Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7 Aero effects

    Thanks guys. I've got it running but it's crashing/locking/restarting at random. I suspect it is the lack of RAM on the graphics card. Pretty sure it's 64MB, so I'm not sure how Virtualbox thinks it is giving it 128MB. If only we could force it to use system RAM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Zululand, RSA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7 Aero effects

    Given that your machine could display Aero features IF it was installed as localhost, then besides what has already been said:

    Make sure that you set at least 128MB--can go to 256MB--on the Video tab of the Display properties
    Make sure that you install the Guest Additions--with 3D selected--in Windows 'Safe Mode'
    And it will work!
    It's not what you know but who you know!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    /Earth/USA/
    Beans
    52
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7 Aero effects

    try 1024 mbs.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Zululand, RSA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7 Aero effects

    Quote Originally Posted by OliverHaslam View Post
    I'm trying to make VIrtualbox work with Windows 7's Aero Peek effects, but am having little luck
    Be nice to hear some feedback...
    It's not what you know but who you know!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Stanwood, WA
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7 Aero effects

    Thanks for the guide, I never really thought to turn on Aero effects (never really cared) but came across this thread and was able to get it enabled no problems.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •