Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dell Lattitude D600 won't run Unity

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Boston
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Question Dell Lattitude D600 won't run Unity

    my dell latitude d600 video is not capable of running unity. I have been searching for an option to update the laptop with a pcmia card or usb device that would replace/ augment / whatever the video so that I could easily update with no luck. Before I give up, I thought I would ask here. BTW, my luck with opening up laptops is not so good. I can put in memory and other easy stuff, but anything more advanced is probably out of the question
    Currently running 11.04 NN, with gnome.
    I wrote my first shell script in 5 minutes, it took me a day to figure out you needed to put a . in front of it to get it to execute.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    1,151

    Re: Dell Lattitude D600 won't run Unity

    Quote Originally Posted by gmgj View Post
    my dell latitude d600 video is not capable of running unity. I have been searching for an option to update the laptop with a pcmia card or usb device that would replace/ augment / whatever the video so that I could easily update with no luck. Before I give up, I thought I would ask here. BTW, my luck with opening up laptops is not so good. I can put in memory and other easy stuff, but anything more advanced is probably out of the question
    Currently running 11.04 NN, with gnome.
    dell latitude d600 is a little old for unity 3d?

    Unity 2d should be fine

    do you have a graphic card?

    Code:
    lspci
    (\ /)
    (O.o)
    (> <)
    This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world domination.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Boston
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Dell Lattitude D600 won't run Unity

    My memory is foggy, but my best recollection is that when I first installed the first version with unity, I had to go through around 5 or six iterations to get any kind of desktop. I would like to upgrade, if I don't have to spend a day trying to get a working desktop back.


    ubugj@ubugj-D600:~$ lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to I/O Controller (rev 03)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to AGP Controller (rev 03)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 81)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
    00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller (rev 01)
    00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 01)
    00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 01)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon RV250 [Mobility FireGL 9000] (rev 02)
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5705M Gigabit Ethernet (rev 01)
    02:01.0 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711EC1 SmartCardBus Controller (rev 20)
    02:01.1 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711EC1 SmartCardBus Controller (rev 20)
    02:03.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG [Calexico2] Network Connection (rev 05)

    BTW, bunny is my new electronic signature; do as
    the Bunny says, or else.
    I wrote my first shell script in 5 minutes, it took me a day to figure out you needed to put a . in front of it to get it to execute.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    1,151

    Re: Dell Lattitude D600 won't run Unity

    Quote Originally Posted by gmgj View Post
    My memory is foggy, but my best recollection is that when I first installed the first version with unity, I had to go through around 5 or six iterations to get any kind of desktop. I would like to upgrade, if I don't have to spend a day trying to get a working desktop back.


    ubugj@ubugj-D600:~$ lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to I/O Controller (rev 03)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to AGP Controller (rev 03)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 81)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
    00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller (rev 01)
    00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 01)
    00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 01)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon RV250 [Mobility FireGL 9000] (rev 02)
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5705M Gigabit Ethernet (rev 01)
    02:01.0 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711EC1 SmartCardBus Controller (rev 20)
    02:01.1 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711EC1 SmartCardBus Controller (rev 20)
    02:03.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG [Calexico2] Network Connection (rev 05)
    i believe your card is little slow, so i might say get a lighter desktop

    btw, that is not convincing
    BTW, bunny is my new electronic signature; do as
    the Bunny says, or else
    this is
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pmu5sRIizdw
    (\ /)
    (O.o)
    (> <)
    This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world domination.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Dell Lattitude D600 won't run Unity

    If you're wanting to change/upgrade your operating system, I would recommend Lubuntu for your old machine- Lubuntu is a very lightweight Ubuntu based distro, and runs beautifully fast on low-spec or older machines.
    Last edited by cortman; April 13th, 2012 at 02:46 AM.
    GNU/Linux Notes || Linux Command Line Learning Resources

    Copy.com offers 15 GB free cloud storage plus 5 GB for both of us when you follow this referral link.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Beans
    17
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Dell Lattitude D600 won't run Unity

    I had the same problem and gave up on Unity. I am running Linux Mint Maya (Ubuntu 12.04) based with Mate and Compiz with desktop effects and it runs wonderful in my D600... I am very happy with its performance and it is a LTS!!!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •