Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sound From QSynth

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    6

    Sound From QSynth

    So I have exhausted about all online troubleshooting options, and still can't get sound from a soundfont through QSynth. A year or so ago it would work beautifully, and for some reason now it won't. I have JACK as audio, and ALSA for the midi sequencing. I connect it through ALSA, and through the audio tab, the green light lights up when I strike keys, but no sound. Calf works fine, and everything else, it's just QSynth. Any help would be appreciated, thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    16

    Re: Sound From QSynth

    Do you use Jack Control(Qjack)? It has connect and patchbay panels that are invaluable in getting things like Qsynth, Hexter, etc.. routed to the proper place. I have found that things don't always get auto-patched/connected to where you'd like.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    6

    Re: Sound From QSynth

    Quote Originally Posted by stevenwscott View Post
    Do you use Jack Control(Qjack)? It has connect and patchbay panels that are invaluable in getting things like Qsynth, Hexter, etc.. routed to the proper place. I have found that things don't always get auto-patched/connected to where you'd like.
    Yep, everything looks proper in the connect window. I'm not very familiar with the patchbay panel.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    592

    Re: Sound From QSynth

    This is a potentially foolish question but ...... have you made sure a soundfont is selected in Qsynth. I know from past experience that some soundfonts when loaded automatically have a sound mapped in and in some you have to go in and manually set it. Failing that have you tried multiple soundfonts?

    Sorry if this is stuff you have already done but it often catches people (me included) out.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    6

    Re: Sound From QSynth

    I tried multiple soundfonts that I used to use, I remember them being reliable. I'm not sure how I would manually set it...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    1,540

    Re: Sound From QSynth

    Hi, if a soundfont contains multiple samples, like a guitar
    soundfont with normal, mutes, slaps, slides, and twelve-string,
    click the 'Channels' button, and each available variation
    will be listed to choose from. Some soundfonts with multiple
    samples won't play one by default, you have to go select it.

    Hope this helps.
    Cheers

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •