Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Memory Problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    34

    Unhappy Memory Problem

    Can i have some advice please!?

    I purchased 2 x 4GB Memory sticks for my laptop to boost my Ubuntu and also Windows 7 that i want to run in VirtualBox. I checked in system settings in the Bios, Windows 7 and Ubuntu and it shows that i have only got 2GB of memory installed; it says on the label of each memory stick that they are 4GB DDR2 PC2-6400! I did a check by putting the memory in one expansion slot at a time and each stick shows up in Windows 7 and Ubuntu as 1GB!

    I've downloaded CPU-Z to double check and it says that they are 1GB PC2-5300 (333mhz)!!! (Screenshot attached). Is CPU-Z, Windows & Ubuntu showing this as correct and have Mr Memory or the manufacturer made a mistake?

    Thanks

    Dave.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    2,050

    Re: Memory Problem

    Perhaps they are mislabeled. Where did you buy them? It would be pretty easy for a disreputable buyer to put fake labels on smaller RAM sticks.

    You can confirm the real size by looking at the numbers on the actual RAM chips, if you can read them. Figure out the size of each chip, multiply by the number of chips.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Michigan, United States
    Beans
    100
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Memory Problem

    try 64-bit version of the operating systems...You might have to pay for the Windows one...
    BTC: 1E8os2cx3JLnp9PMZAtn1eT8kBxaRPq9Hp

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    2,050

    Re: Memory Problem

    Cody, the 64 bit of the operating systems won't help his BIOS see more RAM...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Beans
    990
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Memory Problem

    i really cant tell if they are fake or not. Can you get a picture of your BIOS?

    also what speed are they? DDR2 as shown in CPU-Z or is it DDR3 on the label?
    i5 2500k @ 4.4 GHz | MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | Gigabyte GTX 570 (OC) 1280 MB GDDR5 | Alpenföhn Himalaya | Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz 8GB CL9 RAM | Be quiet! Straight Power BQT-E9 700W | NZXT Lexa S | Monitor - ASUS ML248H 24"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    11,174

    Re: Memory Problem

    Make sure your BIOS is updated and also check the mobo's specs to see if it can handle 8GB.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    11,174

    Re: Memory Problem

    Actually, if you search the model number (nanya nt1gt64u8hb0bn-3c), it is clear that these are 1GB sticks of DDR2-667. Get your money back.
    http://www.memory4less.com/m4l_itemd...mid=1438948443

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    34

    Re: Memory Problem

    I also noted down the part number printer on the chips and did a search on Google and the number points to 1GB modules.

    I've sent MrMemory.co.uk who i purchased the memory modules from and sent them a detailed report from the CPU-Z program.

    Quote Originally Posted by Temüjin View Post
    Actually, if you search the model number (nanya nt1gt64u8hb0bn-3c), it is clear that these are 1GB sticks of DDR2-667. Get your money back.
    http://www.memory4less.com/m4l_itemd...mid=1438948443

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •