Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Broke packages and can't fix

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    18

    Exclamation Broke packages and can't fix

    This is my first post... I am too dumb but determined to use Ubuntu so I paid a professional to install it for me (dualboot 11.10 with Win7). When I came home I got a lot of things from the software center. Skype did not have a download button so I googled it and Ubuntu help told me to do this:
    Code:
    sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ $(lsb_release -sc) partner"
    and then this:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install skype
    The terminal told me "that this is potentially harmful..." but I thought it was Ubuntu language meaning "are you sure?"
    Now the computer is mute.
    Items cannot be installed or removed until the package catalog is repaired, so I want to repair it but the package operation fails.
    "sudo aptitude -f install" -> command not found
    Synaptic package manager tells me that I have two broken packages, libc6 and libc6-dev
    so I do this:
    Code:
     sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
    which tells me to do this:
    Code:
     sudo apt-get -f install
    that ends up like this:
    Can't exec "locale": No such file or directory at /usr/share/perl5/Debconf/Encoding.pm line 16. Use of uninitialized value $Debconf::Encoding::charmap in scalar chomp at /usr/share/perl5/Debconf/Encoding.pm line 17. Preconfiguring packages ... dpkg: warning: 'ldconfig' not found in PATH or not executable. dpkg: error: 1 expected program not found in PATH or not executable. Note: root's PATH should usually contain /usr/local/sbin, /usr/sbin and /sbin. E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2)
    When fixing broken packages in synaptic package manager I get this:
    Preconfiguring packages ... dpkg: warning: 'ldconfig' not found in PATH or not executable. dpkg: error: 1 expected program not found in PATH or not executable. Note: root's PATH should usually contain /usr/local/sbin, /usr/sbin and /sbin. E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2) A package failed to install. Trying to recover: dpkg: warning: 'ldconfig' not found in PATH or not executable. dpkg: error: 1 expected program not found in PATH or not executable. Note: root's PATH should usually contain /usr/local/sbin, /usr/sbin and /sbin.
    I want to become a linux geek but it is harder than I thought. Please help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    el_GR
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Broke packages and can't fix

    Hello and welcome to Ubuntu forums. Many specialists and professionals volunteer here (not me , i am not pro ) for FREE.
    For your problem now , my mind goes to mis-configure sudo . I am not sure for that , but give the output of command
    Code:
    sudo cat /etc/sudoers
    . Please just copy-paste the results . DO NOT change anything in that file.
    Thanks.
    # How to mark the Thread as [SOLVED] when done.
    # Ubuntu Greek Community
    # Gain 20GB of space on copy.com when sign up with my referral link.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    18

    Re: Broke packages and can't fix

    Code:
    #
    # This file MUST be edited with the 'visudo' command as root.
    #
    # Please consider adding local content in /etc/sudoers.d/ instead of
    # directly modifying this file.
    #
    # See the man page for details on how to write a sudoers file.
    #
    Defaults    env_reset
    
    # Host alias specification
    
    # User alias specification
    
    # Cmnd alias specification
    
    # User privilege specification
    root    ALL=(ALL:ALL) ALL
    
    # Members of the admin group may gain root privileges
    %admin ALL=(ALL) ALL
    
    # Allow members of group sudo to execute any command
    %sudo    ALL=(ALL:ALL) ALL
    
    #includedir /etc/sudoers.d
    Last edited by CharlesA; March 28th, 2012 at 07:01 PM. Reason: code tags

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    6,697
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Broke packages and can't fix

    Hi awe1. Welcome to the forums.

    I believe you missed one word in your command:
    Code:
    sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu  $(lsb_release -sc) partner"
    I would edit the sources list manually and add the word:
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
    Then:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get upgrade
    Hope that helps, and tell us how it goes.
    Regards.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    18

    Re: Broke packages and can't fix

    That was too complicated for the newbie
    which repository?
    This was under the "third party developers"
    deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu oneiric partner
    Last edited by awe1; March 28th, 2012 at 07:25 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    el_GR
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Broke packages and can't fix

    I cannot see anything wrong to sudoers file. So leave it that way .
    Now that @papible undertake , just follow his suggestions.

    I missed that this word(ubuntu)....is missing .
    # How to mark the Thread as [SOLVED] when done.
    # Ubuntu Greek Community
    # Gain 20GB of space on copy.com when sign up with my referral link.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    6,697
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Broke packages and can't fix

    Sorry about that.

    Try this:
    • Open the 'Software Center'.
    • Then go to Edit -> Software Sources.
    • Fill your password on the dialogue.
    • A new window will open. Select the tab 'Other Software'
    • Look for the line you just added and click edit.
    • Add the word 'ubuntu' (no quotes) so that the URI looks like this:
      Code:
      http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu
    • Close all windows.
    • Run in the terminal
      Code:
      sudo apt-get update
    • And then:
      Code:
      sudo apt-get install skype

    I hope this time it is easier to understand. Tell us how it goes.
    Regards.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    18

    Re: Broke packages and can't fix

    well this is getting embarrassing.
    Look for the line you just added and click edit.
    did I add a line?
    Well I added 'ubuntu' in the end of a URI that didn't have it but looked like the example above.
    I still have broken packages.
    Commands didn't work.
    Unmet dependencies is one reason given.
    Last edited by awe1; March 28th, 2012 at 07:54 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    4,827
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Broke packages and can't fix

    yes do as Papibe suggested and let us know what you got .
    Raja

    రాజ శేఖర్ రెడ్డి

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    6,697
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Broke packages and can't fix

    EDIT: these instructions were before you manually added the word 'ubuntu'


    Don't worry.

    The command add-apt-repository add a line to the sources list.

    Now that I think about it, you don't really need it.

    The last line on the 'Other Software' should be the one you added. It should look like this:
    Code:
    http://archive.canonical.com/
    without the word ubuntu.

    Remove that line.

    Then Go to the top of the list and make sure 'Canonical Partners' is check.

    Then again in a terminal:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    
    sudo apt-get install skype
    Tell us how it goes.
    REgards.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •