Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Paint.net in ubuntu?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Paint.net in ubuntu?

I'm new to Linux and installed Ubuntu 11.10
    Gimp is fine, but I'm wondering is it possible to install paint.net in Ubuntu?
    I read this thread, http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p....net+ubuntu%3F
    but I couldn't make much sense out of it.. also it didn't say what type of Linux..

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Paint.net in ubuntu?

Hello, gandalf3.

Hopefully you are aware that Ubuntu is not another Microsoft Windows. It is a different operating system. Paint.net is a Windows application. Out of the box, Windows will not run any Ubuntu software, and vice versa Ubuntu will not run any Windows software.

In order to be able to install and run Windows software on Ubuntu, you will have to get and install Wine first. Once you have done so, you may or may not be able to use Paint.net on Ubuntu.

Please, visit the following webpage for more information on Wine: WineHQ.
    Check whether Paint.Net can be run on Linux (Ubuntu) with the help of Wine here: WineHQ - AppDB.

The entries found there for Paint.NET are not too encouraging. Paint.NET is a .NET Framework application. .NET is pretty Windows specific. So the challenge is a double one: install .NET framework on Wine, install Paint.NET on Wine. Hope that both run correctly and co-operate.

In case you cannot get used to Wine, it may be wiser to look for genuine Linux based alternatives instead of trying to run Paint.NET on Ubuntu through Wine.

Kind regards,
    Karl
    Enlightened by Lucid Lynx, enchanted by Maya Mint, trusting the Tahr.

Beans
    Distro

hmm.. well, i can use gimp, but i think i'm going to attempt to get paint.net going, but i'm not really expecting it to work..