Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 78

Thread: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nr BrandsHatch, S'oaks UK
    Beans
    1,241
    Distro
    Lubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    Hi!, jcwinnie,

    Please Post details of what you actually experience when you try to boot, and what you have tried to solve things;

    EG,. how far does it get?,
    what do you see?
    What response you get to keystrokes? - such as 'Crtl+Alt+F1', 'Crtl+Alt+Del', or 'Shift'[ the later during boot sequence].

    If you get a grub menu: Have you tried:
    Booting to recovery?
    Editing the grubmenu script?, eg to put in 'nomodeset'

    Or tried Booting from a LiveCD/USB?

    Please also Post details of your setup: computer make and model, CPU, integrated Graphics?, GPU,video card, memory, and how Ubuntu/Lubuntu is installed, ie with 'wubi' or direct, and if dual with Windows.[ If the later, does it work??]

    Also please Post the output of the following, if you can get to a terminal [ or tty].
    Code:
    uname -ar
    lspci -nnk | grep -iA3 VGA
    /usr/lib/nux/unity_support_test -p
    Copy/Paste the command and output to a 'New Reply' edit box. highlight it and press the '#' icon in the toolbar at the top of the edit box.

    Chao!, bogan.
    "Better Solutions may bring Worsened Problems": After Lao Tse, b. circa 405BC. a contemporary of Confucius, who died circa 600BC.
    They did things differently in those days, apparently!!

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    13

    Question Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    Stuff happens so quickly around here.

    My dual Linux PC (Lubuntu and Ubuntu) is back to normal. Earlier today I tried running Ubuntu and it gave me Lubuntu. I upgraded 4 selections for boot loader. Now everything seems back to normal, i.e., Lubuntu starts from the default selection. It has the previous setup. Now I guess I go test Ubuntu and start the craziness all over again.


  3. #43
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Beans
    55

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    Upgraded my highly customized 10.04 to 12.04. This went mostly without a hitch. I had to tinker with pulseaudio (which I didn't use with 10.04), but otherwise no problems, except I'm seeing very sluggish movement of windows around the screen. This is a relatively old machine, but it has a 3D graphics card which I've verified is working by running a game (bzflag) that I know works poorly without 3D acceleration. In addition, I've done clean installs of 12.04 on two other machines (a high spec laptop and a low spec netbook) and I don't see this behavior on either of them. When I say sluggish, I mean that when I grab a screen and move it, it's like it's moving in molasses - I move the mouse and after a pause, the window slowly drifts over to where I've stopped. In 10.04, this same machine was able to run compiz on medium settings, so I don't think it's the hardware. I suspect it's a simple setting, but I need some clues as to where to look.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    8,705
    Distro
    Lubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    Quote Originally Posted by bwanab View Post
    This is a relatively old machine...
    Please give a complete hardware description.
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Beans
    55

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3000+
    Graphics: Nvidia GeForce FX5200/AGP/SSE2
    Memory: 1G

    Don't know if this helps:


    bill@amddesktop:~$ /usr/lib/nux/unity_support_test -p
    OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
    OpenGL renderer string: GeForce FX 5200/AGP/SSE2
    OpenGL version string: 2.1.2 NVIDIA 173.14.35

    Not software rendered: yes
    Not blacklisted: no
    GLX fbconfig: yes
    GLX texture from pixmap: yes
    GL npot or rect textures: yes
    GL vertex program: yes
    GL fragment program: yes
    GL vertex buffer object: yes
    GL framebuffer object: yes
    GL version is 1.4+: yes

    Unity 3D supported: no

    One more data point: I logged into an xfce session for the first time since upgrading. I don't have this molasses problem at all. Screens move around as they should.
    Last edited by bwanab; October 15th, 2012 at 02:17 AM.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    8,705
    Distro
    Lubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    I have a Dell with the same screen card. Works fine with L/Xubuntu, as you have also seen yourself, but Ubuntu is too heavy.
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Beans
    55

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    Quote Originally Posted by mrgs View Post
    I have a Dell with the same screen card. Works fine with L/Xubuntu, as you have also seen yourself, but Ubuntu is too heavy.
    Thanks. I upgraded to an NVidia 6200 and Unity works fine. I'm still mostly an XFCE guy, but my family prefers Gnome/Unity.

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    8

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    I upgraded from 12.04 to 12.10 and now lost all the email tags in thunderbird.
    Anyone knows why or how to fix this?

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    2

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    Hi

    I've just upgraded from 12.04 to 12.10 and discovered a problem, which I solved myself after a couple of hours of scratching about - so I thought I'd post here in the hopes that someone else might find it useful.

    On 12.04 (and several previous versions) I've had a /etc/fstab which does a few mounts to Windows and/or Samba servers using cifs (smbfs as was).

    When I upgraded, I discovered on first boot that none of them worked. When I tried to mount manually, I got an error saying something like "bad sector block or other possible error - please do "dmesg | tail" to find out more."

    So, I did a dmesg | tail and discovered the following errors:-

    [ 432.864261] CIFS VFS: Connecting to DFS root not implemented yet
    [ 432.864388] CIFS VFS: cifs_mount failed w/return code = -22

    I'm going to cut a long story short. What happened was that, for some reason, the upgrade to 12.10 removed the old version of cifs-utils and didn't replace it with a new one.

    I just did

    sudo apt-get install cifs-utils

    ...and it all came back to life again.

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    23

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    I upgraded a week ago from 12.04 to 12.10 and all is fine. However, I tried to check for any software updater but I receive the following error.
    W:Failed to fetch http://ppa.launchpad.net/upubuntu-co...source/Sources 404 Not Found
    , W:Failed to fetch http://ppa.launchpad.net/upubuntu-co...-i386/Packages 404 Not Found
    , E:Some index files failed to download. They have been ignored, or old ones used instead.
    I will place in another thread.
    Last edited by MickM; November 3rd, 2012 at 12:10 PM. Reason: Wrong Thread

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •