Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 88

Thread: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    9,906
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    If you want an easy (last) test you could try a live boot of X/Lubuntu 12.04 and see how stable it is. My guess is that you'll get a completely different experience.
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    Hello, this is my first post so please feel free to call me a massive noob if this problem is screamingly obvious to fix. Lol.

    Just upgraded to Ubuntu 12.4. It looks great but the dash cannot find anything.

    I've tried searching for programs that I know are there by name yet dash finds nothing and shows me no shortcuts. The only apps I can launch are in the ones in the launcher.

    The Software Centre works fine and I can see the apps in the installed apps section of the software centre but obviously I can't open them.

    Many thanks in advance for your kind assistance.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    9,906
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    If you are a noob, you have come to the right place.

    The idea behind the guide is not trying to bring a failed upgrade back to live, as I believe it is generally not worth the effort, but to encourage people to proceed systematically and get a working system in the shortest time possible.

    The only advice I can give is written in the first post. Getting into the habit of testing and reinstalling is a good investment.

    So, back to your problem... Step 1: How does it work in a live boot?
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    /dev/null
    Beans
    1,574
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    Quote Originally Posted by mrgs View Post
    some Mono-based applications like Tomboy and F-spot were replaced with true open source alternatives. Let's hope we can put the old ones to rest.
    I'd expect a forum moderator to understand what Open Source is.
    Understanding is a three-edged sword: Your side, their side, and the truth

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    There is also the manual approach I used:

    Change the sources to the next version i.e:

    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu oneiric universe

    becomes:

    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu precise universe

    Become root (sudo su) on tty1 (ctrl-alt-f1) . Then run the following commands multiple times in the same order until the all of them show that the distro is up to date and dpkg --configure -a has no output:

    apt-get update
    apt-get upgrade
    dpkg --configure -a
    apt-get dist-update
    dpkg --configure -a

    Finnaly reboot with:

    reboot

    and use the new distro

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    9,906
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    Quote Originally Posted by aditya3098 View Post
    There is also the manual approach I used:

    Change the sources to the next version i.e:

    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu oneiric universe

    becomes:

    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu precise universe

    Become root (sudo su) on tty1 (ctrl-alt-f1) . Then run the following commands multiple times in the same order until the all of them show that the distro is up to date and dpkg --configure -a has no output:

    apt-get update
    apt-get upgrade
    dpkg --configure -a
    apt-get dist-update
    dpkg --configure -a

    Finnaly reboot with:

    reboot

    and use the new distro
    It might work and if it doesn't you know what to try in stead.

    I recommend using sudo and not su:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RootSudo
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    Quote Originally Posted by mrgs View Post
    It might work and if it doesn't you know what to try in stead.

    I recommend using sudo and not su:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RootSudo
    In that case, use sudo -i

    And yes, this IS for advanced users

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    271

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    Never update things you're not sure about.
    Last edited by mrgs; May 12th, 2012 at 03:24 PM. Reason: Removed "!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Minnesota, United States
    Beans
    60
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    Quote Originally Posted by IPEX-731BA5DD06 View Post
    Great Guide, I can only add my own experiences.

    1) Separate Home Partition - This should be MANDATORY .... Safe guarding data , simplicity etc.
    - Notes on this
    a) Do select you home partition at INSTILLATION as you default /home partition.
    b) DON'T select it to be formatted. (yes done that)
    c) Separate partition for operating system, select / as root for that partition.
    d) Pyscho cat has a selection of EXCELLENT tutorials on
    i) Creating a separate home partition UPON instillation.
    ii) Creating a separate home partition AFTER installation.
    iii) Various other tutorials of other topics.

    2) Try to figure out why, what, where who when has gone wrong, don't and issue ultimatums of leaving Ubuntu to go back to windooze !!!!!1 (I say good riddance).

    3) Search this forum and Internet search. ( I've found some solutions while searching other's), processor.nocst=1
    for P4 processor systems on linux 3.0.0-12 -> 17 solves the kernel panic issue and allows use of dual core processors.

    4) Remember the software is free, the only cost is your time and effort (oh hardware if your too foolish, not yet but trying).

    5) Try put back at least twice what you take out, if you find a solution to a hardware issue (HP laserjet 1300, use Guetenburg print setting, 4th on list) is an example of what I've found out playing with settings on my own. Cost 10 pages printed and 1 hr of time.

    Foolish thing I've done ;

    1) Creating a new user Name, and complain that Firefox loses bookmarks, installed programs are missing etc, even though using same separate home partition. IPEX-...doesn't equal ipex-... or brian for that matter.
    2) formatting separate home partition, (Brain explosion that day)
    3) Used usb 2.0 Connection for upgrade (OMF'n!!!! its sooo slow.....compared to CD)
    4) Deleted ALL kernels and wondered why it wont' boot
    5) Posted my errors here for all to SEEE!!!!!!
    Hello there, I've searched for a little while looking for psycho cat's guide but I didn't see it. You wouldn't have a linky handy by any chance would you?

    Thanks!
    That's the kind of society I want to build. I want a guarantee -- with physics and mathematics, not with laws -- that we can give ourselves real privacy of personal communications. - John Gilmore

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    2
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: I upgraded, and now I have this error...

    Link: http://psychocats.net/ubuntu/index.php
    many guides, always worked fine for me

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •