Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Dangerous "feature" of HUD

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Oita, Japan
    Beans
    421
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Dangerous "feature" of HUD

    So i took the time to do most of the unity-checklist tests.

    The tests froze and crashed my desktop no less than three times...

    Aside from that I learned something new and terrible about HUD.

    If you search for a menu item in HUD, sometimes you get multiple results.

    Try searching for "Prefrences"

    You may get a result that looks like the application's prefrences you want, ie: "Edit > Prefrences" makes sense for firefox if you know the menu.

    You may also get a list of less clear results like three or four "> Preferences"

    These "> Something" entries are from the appindicators on the top right.

    HUD makes no attempt to tell you where each of these entries came from, so if you happen to be looking for your Sofware Updates prefrences, but you have other indicators installed, you'll never know which one's prefrences "> Prefrences" refers to without clicking on it.

    This gets even more dangerous if you search for "Quit", which should return several entries including the application you want and others that look similar and say nothing about which application you are quitting.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Dangerous "feature" of HUD

    Hello quequotion

    Where is the unity-checklist you tried? I'd like to work through that.

    You might want to take this to the unity design mailing list, there is a discussion about how HUD accesses the words it searches on there. The unity devs/designers read and respond to that list.

    https://launchpad.net/~unity-design

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    7,969
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Dangerous "feature" of HUD

    Are we talking about the Unity Checkbox tests suites? There are PPAs here

    http://www.theorangenotebook.com/201...p-display.html

    But how useful they are I do not know as this is testing from back in January.

    It seems to me that the HUD needs two things. Applications that work with. Libreoffice does not. And it to be used so that it learns what you what when you type quit or preferences.

    If HUD does not have any prior references to go by it will default to the app indicators because that is all it is aware of.

    Regards.

    This is what Synaptic tells me I have on my system

    Checkbox 0.13.5 = System testing application. Installed by default.
    Checkbox-app-testing 0.4.16 = Manual application tests. System apps that is.
    Checkbox-unity 0.4.13 = Checkbox Unity. Tests Unity
    checkbox-gtk 0.13.5 GTK interface for Checkbox.

    Oh, by the way. Checkbox-app-testing did not work on my 12.04 that I had daily upgraded from 11.10 but it did work on a default 12.04 Beta 1 which was what it was supposed to test.
    Last edited by grahammechanical; March 24th, 2012 at 03:52 PM.
    It is a machine. It is more stupid than we are. It will not stop us from doing stupid things.
    Ubuntu user #33,200. Linux user #530,530


  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Dangerous "feature" of HUD

    Quote Originally Posted by grahammechanical View Post
    It seems to me that the HUD needs two things. Applications that work with. Libreoffice does not.
    Hello grahammechanical

    Try installing lo-menubar. Then LibreOffice has global menu, and I reckon HUD will find the menu strings. Currently on PUIAS so can't check HUD picks up LO menues with lo-menubar installed.

    I'll try that reference you gave.

    Unity-design mailing list has an intresting thread about a programmer trying to design an app specifically for HUD

    https://lists.launchpad.net/unity-design/msg08762.html

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Beans
    1,559
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Dangerous "feature" of HUD

    That's weird. For me the HUD will show the icon of the application whose menu entry is being selected.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    44

    Re: Dangerous "feature" of HUD

    Quote Originally Posted by zombifier25 View Post
    That's weird. For me the HUD will show the icon of the application whose menu entry is being selected.
    Only if you arrow down to select it. Thus, let's say you type "pref": I get these results:

    Code:
    [Firefox icon] Edit > Preferences
    [No icon] > Preferences...
    [No icon] Tools > Adblock Plus > Filter preferences...
    [No icon] > Preferences....
    Now, as I arrow up and down the list, yes, the icon changes to the icon of the list entry currently in focus. However, if I just type "pref" and use my mouse to click the second or fourth options in my list there, I have NO IDEA what I'm choosing.

    If the icon updated on mouse-over, it wouldn't be such a problem.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    881
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Dangerous "feature" of HUD

    Quote Originally Posted by quequotion View Post
    You may also get a list of less clear results like three or four "> Preferences"

    These "> Something" entries are from the appindicators on the top right.
    This sounds to me like a bug against those extra indicators you're using for not following the Ubuntu standard. Ubuntu's power indicator has a button named "Power Settings..." If the indicators would do that, there wouldn't be a problem. Ubuntu's indicators (except bluetooth) followed that pattern for Ubuntu 11.10 too.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,935
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Dangerous "feature" of HUD

    Truthfully...

    I have disabled HUD.

    I don't see any reason for it, at this juncture.

    It works... sort of... and that's good enough to satisfy my curiosity.

    I'll leave it to others, to sort out the details.
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    44

    Re: Dangerous "feature" of HUD

    Quote Originally Posted by jbicha View Post
    This sounds to me like a bug against those extra indicators you're using for not following the Ubuntu standard. Ubuntu's power indicator has a button named "Power Settings..." If the indicators would do that, there wouldn't be a problem. Ubuntu's indicators (except bluetooth) followed that pattern for Ubuntu 11.10 too.
    That's not correct.

    What he's saying is that in HUD as you start typing, auto-complete suggestions are populated. Only one icon at a time can be displayed, but it's the icon that has focus. There is no way to see the icon for the other suggestions. See my screenshot.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Beans
    1,559
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Dangerous "feature" of HUD

    Maybe they should include a tiny icon next to an entry
    Just a suggestion.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •