Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: 2 Screens ATI Video - can't use second screen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Software Devel: HSV, AL
    Beans
    58
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    2 Screens ATI Video - can't use second screen

    I'm having the same problem described here (post closed) which I will describe again.

    I have Radeon HD 34xx with 2 identical monitors set up in landscape, side-by-side, on Natty/Unity with fglrx 2:8.840-0ubuntu4. However, I cannot put stuff on the right screen. It's displaying the desktop in the correct resolution, but I cannot move windows from my left screen to my right screen, and since there are no panels on the right screen, I cannot use it at all. When I attempt to drag a window to the right screen, it just disappears off the left screen and never shows up on any screen or workspace. How can I fix this? I don't know where to start troubleshooting.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Left Coast of the USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: 2 Screens ATI Video - can't use second screen

    I'm not at my machine right now so I can't walk through it to describe it, but...

    In the catalyst control center, take a look at your monitor settings. There should be a set up tab with a representation of your monitors with a colorful fish on it.

    If you want to have your workspace span both monitors, choose the selection showing a single fish with one half on one screen and the back half on the other.

    Save the setting and reboot.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Software Devel: HSV, AL
    Beans
    58
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: 2 Screens ATI Video - can't use second screen

    Thanks for the reply. I didn't know about CCC. I have been editing the configs manually this whole time!

    That doesn't work (yet) because CCC isn't saving my settings. I'll turn on single desktop and then reboot and it'll still be off.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Left Coast of the USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: 2 Screens ATI Video - can't use second screen

    Are you getting any feedback from CCC, or does it appear to accept your changes?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Software Devel: HSV, AL
    Beans
    58
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: 2 Screens ATI Video - can't use second screen

    No errors. I click "Apply", click "Yes" to confirm a time or two, and then click "OK" to close the window, but there are no changes to xorg.conf and no changes to my display setup on reboot. I tried deleting xorg.conf before rebooting, and I just got a default xorg.conf with the second display cloning the first.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Left Coast of the USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: 2 Screens ATI Video - can't use second screen

    Could you post the contents of your xorg.conf?

    Please put it between code tags by first clicking the pound sign in the buttons above.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Software Devel: HSV, AL
    Beans
    58
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: 2 Screens ATI Video - can't use second screen

    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-1"
    	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
    	Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	DefaultDepth	24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-1"
    	Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-1"
    	Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-1"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    	Load	"glx"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
    	Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
    	Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[0]-1" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Driver      "fglrx"
    	Option		"SWCursor" "on"
    	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-1"
    	Driver      "fglrx"
    	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    	Screen		1
    EndSection

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Left Coast of the USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: 2 Screens ATI Video - can't use second screen

    There should be another section in there that gives the "virtual" screen as (width1+width2)xheight -- say 3840x1080 if you have two 1920x1080 monitors.

    Not sure if I'll get a chance to get to it tonight, but I'll post back a copy of my xorg.conf as soon as I can.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    457

    Re: 2 Screens ATI Video - can't use second screen

    I have never ever used dual display in ubuntu, or any other OS. I once bought a graphics card with dual vga adapter display abilities. And the computer didn't like the drivers, scratch that the card was damaged because the bios loading screen was fuzzy. So I installed an hd card after I sent that one back, never got an hd monitor though, and tried using the onboard vga port as well as the installed hd card in computers expansion slot(agp, pci version.........? don't remember)

    lol big mistake the computer will disable onboard always when a video card is in an expansion slot. Ok so now that I have explained that, I can't seem to set up monitor display in the top right gear power button looking icon(I've set to unity interface), well yes I can it just isn't detecting dual display because I don't have it set up. So I can't troubleshoot for you very well. Is one of the hd cards you are using an nvidia card? In the terminal

    ctrl+alt+t

    please type gksudo nvidia. Thanks

    as for your code configuration, can't help you with it because I just don't know. Sorry

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Software Devel: HSV, AL
    Beans
    58
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: 2 Screens ATI Video - can't use second screen

    No, I am using 1 dual-head Radeon HD 34xx. No nvidia.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •