Thread: Really weird RECENT auto-on & auto-off printer problem!

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Red face Really weird RECENT auto-on & auto-off printer problem!

Boy, this is driving me nuts, especially since nothing on my system has changed ... except for standard updates with the update manager. My system is the same as before, no new or different hardware, and I'm using the same printer that I've been using for the past 8 - 12 months. The printer is a Brother MFC J410W, connected via USB 2.0 cable directly to my computer.

A few days ago, perhaps a week at most, I tried printing some forms that I print on a regular basis ... but this time nothing happened. The print job stayed in the cue for a long time ... BUT WITHOUT ANY ERROR MESSAGES. So I checked ... SYSTEM ... PRINTING ... and saw that my installed printer had what appeared to be a PAUSE BUTTON on it ??? WTH ???

I right clicked for the printer properties where I saw the comment:
    Printer Unplugged or turned off

Say what? How did that happen?
    Of course when I checked everything, the printer power & cable were just fine.

Okay, so I figured this was just a quirk for some weird reason and restarted the computer. After the restart my printer worked perfectly fine, didn't have to change anything anywhere. Selected my forms, chose print, and voila, both forms printed without a problem. BUT ... then today exactly the same thing happened. Same pause button, same "unplugged" message in the printer properties. Anyone else ever experience this or have a solution to this problem? I'd sure hate to restart my system all of the time before I print anything. This is really nuts ... !!!

PLEASE ... don't waste anyone's time (your own included) with foolish or utterly useless comments!

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

[SOLVED] Really weird RECENT auto-on & auto-off printer problem!

Okay, my Brother MFC-J410W Printer is working again!