Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: Is nobody else using gnome-shell seeing ram figures like these?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    a puddle in Manchester
    Beans
    9,198
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Is nobody else using gnome-shell seeing ram figures like these?

    Hmm I didn't see that, though I may be having some conky display issues - could be related perhaps. I'll reboot and watch carefully
    MacBook Pro 10,1 retina

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    a puddle in Manchester
    Beans
    9,198
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Is nobody else using gnome-shell seeing ram figures like these?

    My desktop was slightly mis-placed for just a second or so. No chance of a screenshot though - not long enough.
    Approximately 90 minutes in to the new GS and ram usage seems much more stable now. Just one teeny crash so far. More of a hiccup than a crash really.
    MacBook Pro 10,1 retina

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    117
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Is nobody else using gnome-shell seeing ram figures like these?

    I recall there being something about gnome-screensaver causing huge spikes in ram usage, because it happened to me. Right now, gs is using 77 mb of ram. Gnome-terminal and Chromium open. 64 bit updated 12.04 with 2 gb of ram and a Radeon 4350.
    I bowl, I love computers, and I don't care who knows it. I am a chick magnet...

    Thank goodness I'm married.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Beans
    2,184

    Re: Is nobody else using gnome-shell seeing ram figures like these?

    Quote Originally Posted by Quackers View Post
    My desktop was slightly mis-placed for just a second or so. No chance of a screenshot though - not long enough.
    Approximately 90 minutes in to the new GS and ram usage seems much more stable now. Just one teeny crash so far. More of a hiccup than a crash really.
    desktop misplacement is due to nautilus desktop drawing.. it is reproducible via gnome-tweak-tool:
    "Have file manager handle the desktop"

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    a puddle in Manchester
    Beans
    9,198
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Is nobody else using gnome-shell seeing ram figures like these?

    Quote Originally Posted by lucazade View Post
    desktop misplacement is due to nautilus desktop drawing.. it is reproducible via gnome-tweak-tool:
    "Have file manager handle the desktop"
    That's what it's set at lucazade.
    The desktop mis-placement is only very fleeting and just as the desktop loads. It's fine after a second.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    MacBook Pro 10,1 retina

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    a puddle in Manchester
    Beans
    9,198
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Is nobody else using gnome-shell seeing ram figures like these?

    10 hours uptime now and GS is only using 111M of ram, so problem seems solved.
    Thanks all
    MacBook Pro 10,1 retina

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    44
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Is nobody else using gnome-shell seeing ram figures like these?

    Quote Originally Posted by Quackers View Post
    10 hours uptime now and GS is only using 111M of ram, so problem seems solved.
    Thanks all
    My GS (3.3.92) runs for days between reboots without any issues. Currently using 206M (down from 215M earlier). I think that's a lot but hadn't noticed it, wasn't worried about it but now that you guys have pointed it out - I'M ANGRY AS HELL!

    Well, no not really, it is excessive but that's around 10% of resident memory. I guess it's all that Javascript goodness that has bloated it.

    Chris
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 11.10 / Dell XPS M1730 / GeForce 8700M GT (rev a1) / BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n (rev 03)

  8. #28
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Is nobody else using gnome-shell seeing ram figures like these?

    Hello All

    Fine on i386 as well with yesterday's updated gnome-shell, package 3.3.92-0ubuntu1. Thanks to devs for squashing this one.

    Now to see if I can provoke the freezing I was seeing with the previous version.

    Code:
    Thursday 22nd March 23:11
      PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND            
     1619 keith     20   0  544m 113m  45m S   16  2.8   0:15.81 gnome-shell  
    
    Friday 23rd March 07:14
    
      PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND            
     1619 keith     20   0  559m 128m  45m S    6  3.2   1:20.87 gnome-shell
    @cmccauley: Above with no extensions at all, and just with Firefox. What are you running when you see 200+ Mb of ram on Gnome Shell?

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    a puddle in Manchester
    Beans
    9,198
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Is nobody else using gnome-shell seeing ram figures like these?

    Hmm, it seems that Xorg is now using 3 times the ram it used to
    MacBook Pro 10,1 retina

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •