Thread: A program or even a simple script can steal your firefox passwords

Beans

A program or even a simple script can steal your firefox passwords

Hi
    I just spotted this on another post and it got me wondering if it is accurate.

"A program or even a simple script can steal your firefox passwords and other important stuff even in Ubuntu Linux without root password, so don't run things blindly!"

I run my system through an ActionTec DSL modem with a wireless gateway (not set up for wireless)
    I have been having several small issues with my system that made me wonder about Ubuntu virus worries.
    I've been using Ubuntu for a couple of years, but have not become proficient with it beyond the basic of doing what I want it to do.
    Most of the alarming problems I'm having are since upgrading to Oneric.
    I have mouse problems (covered in a separate post)
    Suddenly my system goes into hibernation after a while, but I did not set it to do that.
    The monitor will suddenly fade an go dark even when I am actively using it, but recovers when if I hit the space bar.
    When I want to open more than 2 windows, using the ALT/TAB will only allow 1 window to show at a time. Is there a way to go back to when all open windows were shown at the bottom of the screen?
    Also, when I use personal font settings they do not always work. When I set them to "allow sites to choose their own fonts" that setting does not usually work right.

I thought I was installing a stable version of Oneric that would work like all the previous releases, but it does not seem to be the case.
    So the question is: Is Ubuntu Oneric more susceptible to viruses than I previously though and should I change to a better DSL modem and add an anti-virus program?
    Thanks

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

Re: A program or even a simple script can steal your firefox passwords

Quote Originally Posted by Ol'manScratch View Post