Thread: Very little space remaining on my boot disk (SSD)... Or is it?

Beans

Question Very little space remaining on my boot disk (SSD)... Or is it?

Hey everyone, I figured this is the appropriate place to ask since I'm still pretty new to linux. I realize this is probably a very basic question so please try to refrain from making too much fun of me ok?

Anyway, I'm running Ubuntu 11.10 and my boot disk is a mushkin chronos 64GB SSD. I also have a traditional hard drive I installed as file storage. Both drives work fine, and I'm really impressed by how fast my boot-up time is with this setup.

One thing kind of disturbs me though: When I first installed Ubuntu (on my brand new system) about 5 days ago, The filesystem and home folder showed that there was something like 50GB free space remaining. I expected as much, owing to the system files and swap partition. Since then I have installed a few programs through the software centre (nothing big though, just things like gparted, VLC, nvidia drivers, and a couple others). Yesterday it said I had about 49 or 50 GB free (which I expected), but this morning I was shocked to learn it only has 6GB free!

I didn't believe it at first, so I went into gparted to confirm it, and it said the same thing. What happened? Is this normal?

Forgive me if this question has been asked before; I'm just used to the Mac OS X system so this phenomenon is a little new to me.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

Re: Very little space remaining on my boot disk (SSD)... Or is it?

Try running baobab to see where these files are.

Disk usage analyzer or something like it might be called - search in the dash for it, then run it on File System.

Alternatively start it from a terminal

Code:
    baobab
    That said I would be inclined to look in /var/log in the file manager first.

Try and think of something you might have done in between times - a backup perhaps gone awry.