Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do I find my Thunderbird profile manager in Ubuntu 11.10?

How do I find my Thunderbird profile manager in Ubuntu 11.10?

I have searched forums and google and tried everything I've seen. I cannot find the hidden files etc. Do I need to search for this using a terminal? I am a beginner but have tried everything and taught myself how to do what I do not know. What I've read seems to apply to earlier versions of Ubuntu. I am working on a new computer and my reason for searching is to install my thunderbird mail file from my old computer to my new one. My old one was Windows and I'm using Linux on the new one. If there is a workaround I'm happy to try it other than finding profile manager.

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

Re: How do I find my Thunderbird profile manager in Ubuntu 11.10?

I don't use Thunderbird, but if you go to your home folder and press ctrl+h, I believe the folder will be something like "~/.mozilla-thunderbird[name]".

After you're finished, press ctrl+h again.

Beans
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

I'm running Ubuntu 11.10, and my folder is called ~/.thunderbird. Just to make what Jon said clear, he's talking about pressing Ctrl+H in Nautilus, the file manager, not in the terminal. In Nautilus, Ctrl+H toggles showing hidden files and folders. Your .thunderbird folder is in your user's /home folder.

But if you actually want to access Thunderbird's profile manager app, like your title suggests, then open a terminal, and type:
    Code:
    thunderbird -p
    Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You. - Dr. Seuss

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

View > show hidden will also work .
    my reason for searching is to install my Thunderbird mail file from my old computer to my new one. My old one was Windows and I'm using Linux on the new one. If there is a workaround I'm happy to try it other than finding profile manager.