Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Wine 64-bit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Beans
    268
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Wine 64-bit

    Hey all, my 12.04 install gets more and more stable every day I update it, and most of my annoying problems have disappeared.

    I'm trying to install Wine, as I want to try and get SAPGui working under it (school gives me a Windows installer and an OS X program...nothing for linux). Anyway, I went to Synaptic, and noticed that Wine wants to install a LOT of 32 bit dependencies...making me think I'd be stuck with a 32 bit version of Wine. Not a huge deal, but why?

    I went to the Wine pages, and couldn't really find much. This page, and specifically the "Ubuntu Way" section, points out that 12.04 has multiarch support, which could cause problems when building 64 bit Wine from source.

    Anyone have any luck? I'm sure I could just get by with 32 bit Wine, but I'd rather know why this doesn't work, and why the Wine pages say that building 64 bit under 12.04 may ruin "your ability to build 64 bit programs."

    Maybe I'm reading the pages wrong. Can someone clarify?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    161
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Wine 64-bit

    It installs those files because it doesn't use ia32-libs anymore.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    7,511
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Wine 64-bit

    Why do you not install through the software centre. Because we are 12.04 we get wine 1.4. Which I think is the most up to date version. it is 1.4~rc6-0ubuntu.

    I originally (months ago) I installed wine through this ppa

    But I do not use it now as I am getting updates through Update Manager.

    Ubuntu is switching over to something called multiarch. I think that it means having libraries that make 32bit applications work better on a 64bit Ubuntu without installing special 32bit libraries. May be the multiarch libraries that are being developed work with either the 32bit version of the application or the 64bit version of the application. One set of libraries serving both the 32bit and the 64bit versions of applications. I am not sure of this.

    I also think that may be wine does not have a pure 64bit version. Anyway, I would suggest installing the version in the software centre.

    Do you have any intention of building 64bit programs?

    Regards.
    Last edited by grahammechanical; March 9th, 2012 at 04:30 AM.
    It is a machine. It is more stupid than we are. It will not stop us from doing stupid things.
    Ubuntu user #33,200. Linux user #530,530


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Beans
    268
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Wine 64-bit

    I do some development work on this machine, nothing too major, but the idea of "losing capabilities" seems wrong.

    Anyway, I'll just install from Synaptic most likely. I only need Wine for some really basic stuff, as I have a VirtualBox install and a dual boot. I was just a bit confused as to the wording.

    I didn't like all of the 32-bit dependencies that Synaptic wanted to install, so I thought I'd compile and install from source to avoid unnecessary packages.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Wine 64-bit

    Install PLAYONLINUX from Ubuntu Software Center... it also installs Wine 1.4 and all the required dependencies and libraries. Also, I find installing Wine via Playonlinux much more stable and reliable than just Wine on its own. And I don't know why.
    "Evolution is Nature's way of issuing upgrades."


  6. #6
    dino99's Avatar
    dino99 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Nux Jam
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Wine 64-bit

    Strangely rc5 was having a wine1.4-amd64 package, but the rc6 into precise archive have not

    https://launchpad.net/~scottritchie/...ests/+packages

    maybe Scott have forgotten to publish one; time to report that issue.

    note: the rc6 for amd64 can be found here: https://launchpad.net/~ubuntu-backpo.../ppa/+packages
    Last edited by dino99; March 10th, 2012 at 05:28 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •