Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 10.04 live CD on Powermac G5

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    2

    10.04 live CD on Powermac G5

    Hi, im trying to boot up 10.04 from the live CD on a powermac G5. I haven't used Ubuntu on this computer before, nor do I want to install it. Just trying it. I see Yaboot and the white screen, but then the screen just goes black. A couple minutes later I hear bongo sounds, and then a couple minutes after that the CD ejects itself.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New York, NY
    Beans
    232
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: 10.04 live CD on Powermac G5

    Which G5. and which video card?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    2

    Re: 10.04 live CD on Powermac G5

    Model Name: Power Mac G5
    Model Identifier: PowerMac7,2
    Processor Name: PowerPC 970 (2.2)
    Processor Speed: 1.6 GHz
    Number Of CPUs: 1
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
    Memory: 2.25 GB
    Bus Speed: 800 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: 5.1.5f2
    Serial Number (system): XB3380RTNV9
    Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-000A958F62B0

    GeForce FX 5200:

    Chipset Model: GeForce FX 5200
    Type: Display
    Bus: AGP
    Slot: SLOT-1
    VRAM (Total): 64 MB
    Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x0321
    Revision ID: 0x00a2
    ROM Revision: 2060
    Displays:
    Apple Studio Display:
    Resolution: 1280 x 1024
    Depth: 32-Bit Color
    Core Image: Hardware Accelerated
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Quartz Extreme: Supported
    Display Connector:
    Status: No Display Connected

    Need anything else?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    London, UK
    Beans
    603
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: 10.04 live CD on Powermac G5

    Hi there, Welcome to the forums!

    That G5 isn't on the supported hardware list, but that doesn't really mean it won't work - my eMac and other G4 aren't either, but no problems!

    It could be the nvidea card as most of the old macs had ATI. You could try reburning the CD / Using a USB to see if it's the download/burn/drive causing an error, but I fear it could be a problem with the live CD - you could try another version or distro; I'd recommend lubuntu to get the most out of the system - my 1.4Ghz G4 with 32MB graphics can't handle 3d unity - or if you did want to install, use the alternate CD... but you can't try it on that one.

    Just incase you are unsure Lubuntu (and Xubuntu) is the base system of Ubuntu with a different, lighterwieght desktop experience on top - perfect for older machines whilst still using ubuntu.

    Hope it helps!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New York, NY
    Beans
    232
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: 10.04 live CD on Powermac G5

    Ubuntu works on a G5 with the 5200. You won't be able to put the machine to sleep with an nVidia card, however.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    22

    Re: 10.04 live CD on Powermac G5

    Hey! I had the same issue with my G5. My monitor was an old NEC CRT (really sweet, expensive monitor... but older). I got a message on my monitor that the refresh rate was out of range so I hauled the G5 (great for a boat anchor, by the way) upstairs and plugged it into my flat panel monitor. Worked like a charm. When you hear those bongos it means that the login screen has opened up and is waiting for you to log in. You are successfully booting the live media, you just can't see anything because your monitor doesn't support the default refresh rate. Try another monitor or search around for a way to boot with a different refresh rate or screen resolution. That's my take on the situation, anyway.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    103

    Re: 10.04 live CD on Powermac G5

    I realize this is an old post, but the issue still exists in 12.04. Actually not just Ubuntu, but any distro I have tried.

    On my PowerMac G5 with Nvidia FX5200, the work around is to disable the (non-existent/phantom) TV output. No xorg.conf needed.

    Code:
    boot: live video=TV-1:d
    or
    boot: Linux video=TV-1:d
    Depending on your monitor, you may also need to get more explicit. IE;

    Code:
    boot live video=DVI-I-1:d video=DVI-I-2:1280x1024-24@75 video=TV-1:d
    I attempted a "step by step" of how I got there in this linked thread.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •