Thread: increase kvm guest memory runtime

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Lightbulb increase kvm guest memory runtime

Hi,

I am pretty new to virtualization. I have a host under my desk that is running 5 guests on kvm.
    -the host (the physical server) runs ubuntu server 11.04 (natty)
    -the guest (the virtual server) runs ubuntu server 10.04 (lucid)
    -the client (my laptop) runs ubuntu desktop 11.10 (oneiric)
    I use virt-manager ("Virtual Machine Manager") on my laptop to manage (and install) the guests.

Problem:
    One guest currently needs a lot of memory, it's swappig a lot. I closed the other guests down for a while and i now want to increase the memory that this guest may use, without having to start over on the calculations.
    (btw closing down guests that were already idle didn't help at all to lower the high "load" on the host system)

virt-manager offers a button for increasing that memory (click the blue "i" for "information" in the toolbar of the virtual server that you have logged in to, select the "memomy" and increase the amount).
    But it didn't work for me:
    "These changes will take effect after the next guest shutdown.
    Details:
    this function is not supported by the connection driver: virDomainSetMaxMemory

Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/details.py", line 2305, in _change_config_helper
    func(*args)
    File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/domain.py", line 743, in hotplug_both_mem
    self.hotplug_maxmem(maxmem)
    File "/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/domain.py", line 729, in hotplug_maxmem
    self._backend.setMaxMemory(maxmem)
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/libvirt.py", line 842, in setMaxMemory
    if ret == -1: raise libvirtError ('virDomainSetMaxMemory() failed', dom=self)
    libvirtError: this function is not supported by the connection driver: virDomainSetMaxMemory"