Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Is DynDNS not free anymore?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    4,786

    Is DynDNS not free anymore?

    My Googling is suggesting that DynDNS is free, however I still hear recent reports of people talking about their free services. I'm in need of a single dynamic hostname for my household, so of course a freebie service is what I'm after. I had one set up with freedns.afraid.org, but with the new Netgear router I got I see in the interface that it ONLY has DynDNS listed as an option, which is rather lame. I know I can set it up on a computer, but I really want it running on the router since I try to keep my systems off as much as possible.

    I thought about flashing it to DD-WRT (Even though I love Tomato, they can bite it since they're Broadcom fanboys for some reason) but I'm not sure if the Netgear N600 3700v3 is DD-WRT capable. If somebody knows that offhand I'd love to hear...

    Anyway, anybody know if DynDNS is pay only now?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    2,410

    Re: Is DynDNS not free anymore?

    I just learned of this recently. DynDNS does not offer the free dynamic DNS service anymore, just a 14 day free trial.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Isn't it obvious?
    Beans
    432

    Re: Is DynDNS not free anymore?

    Quote Originally Posted by Roasted View Post
    ...but I'm not sure if the Netgear N600 3700v3 is DD-WRT capable. If somebody knows that offhand I'd love to hear...

    All known working routers with DD-WRT are listed here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database
    AMD Athlon II x4 640 - ASUS M4A88T-V EVO/USB3 - 12GB RAM - XFX ATI Radeon HD 5670 1GB w/21.5" Monitor - Assorted HDDs - Mushkin Enhanced Chronos 120Gb SSD - [ArchLinux - Windows 7 - Mac OS X 10.6.8]
    If all else fails, read the instructions.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    76

    Re: Is DynDNS not free anymore?

    I dunno about that. I think you might have to go digging through DynDNS.

    However, if you flash over to DD-WRT or OpenWRT, they support most of the dynamic DNS providers out there.

    EDIT: I always research routers before I buy them. If it isn't supported by DD-WRT, I won't buy it.
    Last edited by MisterGaribaldi; February 29th, 2012 at 08:18 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    4,786

    Re: Is DynDNS not free anymore?

    Quote Originally Posted by catlover2 View Post
    All known working routers with DD-WRT are listed here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database
    I know, but there's no sign of my current router, which is a v3, whereas v1 and v2 were listed. I was partially hoping maybe the third edition is just that new yet... But I'm doubtful still...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    4,786

    Re: Is DynDNS not free anymore?

    Quote Originally Posted by MisterGaribaldi View Post
    I dunno about that. I think you might have to go digging through DynDNS.

    However, if you flash over to DD-WRT or OpenWRT, they support most of the dynamic DNS providers out there.
    I know, but my router in specific isn't listed. It's sister editions 1 and 2 are but not 3, which I have...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Newry, Northern Ireland
    Beans
    1,258

    Re: Is DynDNS not free anymore?

    If the specific model is not listed, don't bet on it being supported. It was the same with the old Linksys WRT54G, all the early version were supported, but v8 and v9 weren't or something, I got stung with that.
    Can't think of anything profound or witty.
    My Blog: http://gonzothegeek.blogspot.co.uk/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    4,786

    Re: Is DynDNS not free anymore?

    Quote Originally Posted by spynappels View Post
    If the specific model is not listed, don't bet on it being supported. It was the same with the old Linksys WRT54G, all the early version were supported, but v8 and v9 weren't or something, I got stung with that.
    Yeah, hate to say it but this guy is getting returned then. If I cannot choose the DDNS service I want and cannot flash to a firmware to let me do so I have no interest in this thing.

    The only thing is I'm trying to buy local since I want to get this working asap. Best Buy has some sales going on now which their prices pretty much match NewEgg however they're limited in what they carry.

    There's the D-Link 655, which is great from what I hear, but it isn't DD-WRT supported. I'm okay with the factory firmware as long as it works and has some decent functionality. If anybody here has a 655 I'm curious what DDNS services are supported. The only other choices are really Netgear's and the Linksys E3000, which I already returned due to getting a defective unit. There's also a Belkin N750 but I'm not sure how Belkin does these days in routing. Can anybody comment?

    Damnit, Netgear. If only you supported more DDNS services I'd actually be content.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    0

    Re: Is DynDNS not free anymore?

    Quote Originally Posted by ubuntuman001 View Post
    I just learned of this recently. DynDNS does not offer the free dynamic DNS service anymore, just a 14 day free trial.
    Came across this, thought I'd expand on it - while Dyn has transitioned to offering a 14-day free trial of the Pro services, you can still get a free host name for trying it out. If during your trial you choose to cancel, you will get to keep a host name at no cost to you.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    495
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Is DynDNS not free anymore?

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeatdyn View Post
    Came across this, thought I'd expand on it - while Dyn has transitioned to offering a 14-day free trial of the Pro services, you can still get a free host name for trying it out. If during your trial you choose to cancel, you will get to keep a host name at no cost to you.
    Thanks for your clarification. I was going to sign up for a free host name a little while ago, but became confused because there was no option for it.

    Now I might sign up for a trial account... So, how do you cancel your free trial then?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •