Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: lm-sensors does not show cpu temps

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    4

    lm-sensors does not show cpu temps

    Hey, I can't get lm-sensors show my CPU temps at all.
    So what I have done: installed lm-sensors via "sudo apt-get install lm-sensors" > "sudo sensors-detect" > answered yes to all except no to last one (I'v tried also answering yes to last one but no change) > "sudo /etc/init.d/module-init-tools restart" & rebooting.

    After doing above, I ran "sensors":
    Code:
    ****:~$ sensors
    k10temp-pci-00c3
    Adapter: PCI adapter
    temp1:        +18.9°C  (high = +70.0°C)
    I'd like to know my CPU temps but lm-sensors simply does not show them.

    Contents of /etc/modules
    Code:
    # /etc/modules: kernel modules to load at boot time.
    #
    # This file contains the names of kernel modules that should be loaded
    # at boot time, one per line. Lines beginning with "#" are ignored.
    
    loop
    lp
    rtc
    Specs if matters:
    Ubuntu 11.10 (GNU/Linux 3.0.0-16-server x86_64)
    AMD Phenom 960T, four cores (no unlocking done)
    ASROCK AM3/AM3+ AMD880G

    I have also tried downloading and installing lm-sensors from their website (I purged lm-sensors from my system before that) but it didn't help.

    I could use some help now.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,783

    Re: lm-sensors does not show cpu temps

    Can you give the full output of sensors-detect?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: lm-sensors does not show cpu temps

    Quote Originally Posted by Temüjin View Post
    Can you give the full output of sensors-detect?
    Code:
    ****:~$ sudo sensors-detect
    [sudo] password for ****:
    # sensors-detect revision 5946 (2011-03-23 11:54:44 +0100)
    # System: To Be Filled By O.E.M. To Be Filled By O.E.M.
    # Board: ASRock 880GMH/U3S3
    
    This program will help you determine which kernel modules you need
    to load to use lm_sensors most effectively. It is generally safe
    and recommended to accept the default answers to all questions,
    unless you know what you're doing.
    
    Some south bridges, CPUs or memory controllers contain embedded sensors.
    Do you want to scan for them? This is totally safe. (YES/no): yes
    Module cpuid loaded successfully.
    Silicon Integrated Systems SIS5595...                       No
    VIA VT82C686 Integrated Sensors...                          No
    VIA VT8231 Integrated Sensors...                            No
    AMD K8 thermal sensors...                                   No
    AMD Family 10h thermal sensors...                           Success!
        (driver `k10temp')
    AMD Family 11h thermal sensors...                           No
    AMD Family 12h and 14h thermal sensors...                   No
    Intel digital thermal sensor...                             No
    Intel AMB FB-DIMM thermal sensor...                         No
    VIA C7 thermal sensor...                                    No
    VIA Nano thermal sensor...                                  No
    
    Some Super I/O chips contain embedded sensors. We have to write to
    standard I/O ports to probe them. This is usually safe.
    Do you want to scan for Super I/O sensors? (YES/no): yes
    Probing for Super-I/O at 0x2e/0x2f
    Trying family `National Semiconductor'...                   No
    Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
    Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek'...               Yes
    Found `Nuvoton W83677HG-I (NCT6771F/NCT6772F/NCT6775F) Super IO Sensors'Success!
        (address 0x290, driver `to-be-written')
    Probing for Super-I/O at 0x4e/0x4f
    Trying family `National Semiconductor'...                   No
    Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
    Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek'...               No
    Trying family `ITE'...                                      No
    
    Some systems (mainly servers) implement IPMI, a set of common interfaces
    through which system health data may be retrieved, amongst other things.
    We first try to get the information from SMBIOS. If we don't find it
    there, we have to read from arbitrary I/O ports to probe for such
    interfaces. This is normally safe. Do you want to scan for IPMI
    interfaces? (YES/no): yes
    Probing for `IPMI BMC KCS' at 0xca0...                      No
    Probing for `IPMI BMC SMIC' at 0xca8...                     No
    
    Some hardware monitoring chips are accessible through the ISA I/O ports.
    We have to write to arbitrary I/O ports to probe them. This is usually
    safe though. Yes, you do have ISA I/O ports even if you do not have any
    ISA slots! Do you want to scan the ISA I/O ports? (yes/NO): yes
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78' at 0x290...       No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM79' at 0x290...       No
    Probing for `Winbond W83781D' at 0x290...                   No
    Probing for `Winbond W83782D' at 0x290...                   No
    
    Lastly, we can probe the I2C/SMBus adapters for connected hardware
    monitoring devices. This is the most risky part, and while it works
    reasonably well on most systems, it has been reported to cause trouble
    on some systems.
    Do you want to probe the I2C/SMBus adapters now? (YES/no): no
    Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
    Just press ENTER to continue:
    
    Driver `to-be-written':
      * ISA bus, address 0x290
        Chip `Nuvoton W83677HG-I (NCT6771F/NCT6772F/NCT6775F) Super IO Sensors' (confidence: 9)
    
    Driver `k10temp' (autoloaded):
      * Chip `AMD Family 10h thermal sensors' (confidence: 9)
    
    Note: there is no driver for Nuvoton W83677HG-I (NCT6771F/NCT6772F/NCT6775F) Super IO Sensors yet.
    Check http://www.lm-sensors.org/wiki/Devices for updates.
    
    No modules to load, skipping modules configuration.
    
    Unloading cpuid... OK

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,783

    Re: lm-sensors does not show cpu temps

    Try this: https://github.com/groeck/w83627ehf/tarball/master

    Extract it, cd to that directory and run:
    Code:
    make
    sudo make install
    sudo modprobe w83627ehf
    sensors
    Last edited by Yellow Pasque; February 28th, 2012 at 10:22 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: lm-sensors does not show cpu temps

    Quote Originally Posted by Temüjin View Post
    Try this: https://github.com/groeck/w83627ehf/tarball/master

    Extract it, cd to that directory and run:
    Code:
    make
    sudo make install
    sudo modprobe w83627ehf
    sensors
    Oooh... it's working! Thanks!

    Code:
    k10temp-pci-00c3
    Adapter: PCI adapter
    temp1:        +19.4°C  (high = +70.0°C)
    
    nct6775-isa-0290
    Adapter: ISA adapter
    Vcore:        +1.34 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +1.74 V)
    in1:          +1.70 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.00 V)  ALARM
    AVCC:         +3.36 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.00 V)  ALARM
    +3.3V:        +3.36 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.00 V)  ALARM
    in4:          +0.10 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.00 V)  ALARM
    in5:          +1.89 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.00 V)  ALARM
    in6:          +0.10 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.00 V)  ALARM
    3VSB:         +3.47 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.00 V)  ALARM
    Vbat:         +3.44 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +0.00 V)  ALARM
    fan1:        1068 RPM  (min =    0 RPM, div = 8)  ALARM
    fan2:           0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM, div = 16)
    fan3:        1068 RPM  (min =    0 RPM, div = 8)  ALARM
    fan4:           0 RPM  (div = 16)
    SYSTIN:       +36.0°C  (high =  +0.0°C, hyst =  +0.0°C)  ALARM  sensor = thermistor
    CPUTIN:       +32.5°C  (high = +80.0°C, hyst = +75.0°C)  sensor = thermistor
    AUXTIN:      +126.5°C  (high = +114.0°C, hyst = +114.0°C)  ALARM  sensor = thermistor
    cpu0_vid:    +0.475 V
    intrusion0:  ALARM
    Now I can stress test my cpu and see if my cooler is working as intended...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,783

    Re: lm-sensors does not show cpu temps

    You're welcome. Add "w83627ehf" (no quotes) to /etc/modules so the module loads at every boot. Also, if you install a new kernel, be sure to run 'make install' again.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •