Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: I realize the magnitude of all the "Can't Connect to Wireless" threads, butttt....

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southern Maryland
    Beans
    1,576
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: I realize the magnitude of all the "Can't Connect to Wireless" threads, butttt...

    This is a really easy fix and you do not need ethernet to download the drivers or firmware. They're on the live CD/DVD. Since you have no ethernet it'll be easier to go into a live session, get the wireless going, then immediately install the OS while the wireless is working.

    Open a terminal after you boot from the LIVECD and go to additional drivers. Select the STA driver. Once it activates, which it will right from the CD, it will prompt you to restart. DO NOT RESTART! Simply open a terminal and
    Code:
    sudo modprobe wl
    Wait a few moments and then try to connect.

    Once you connect, install the OS during that live session. Once it finishes you will have a live working wireless connection on your first boot into the newly installed OS.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    6,576
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: I realize the magnitude of all the "Can't Connect to Wireless" threads, butttt...

    Quote Originally Posted by bkratz View Post
    You should be able to find what you need in post 3 of this thread
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1932922
    Wow! How nice to see being quoted for a solution! (probably for the first time!)

    However, as already figured out, that post assumes a working ethernet connection which is not the case here (damn this r8169 bug!!). Accordingly, TBABill's method seems most straightforward. Another alternative method (for no-internet connection) is given in the community documentation: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Wi...nternet_access


    As for the ethernet issue, this post should be all that is required: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=11719747

    (the above linked post uses driver version 8.026... You might wish to get the latest one (currently 8.028..)from realtek's site: http://www.realtek.com/downloads/dow...&GetDown=false . The parts of commands that contain the driver/folder name would change accordingly.)

    The downloaded driver file (.tar.bz2) contains its own installation instructions in a README file which is just running:
    Code:
    sudo ./autorun.sh
    as ratcheer suggested. Normally, this should take care of everything, but some users have reported problems even after that, hence the alternate method I linked to above.

    I'll eagerly wait to see which methods worked for you.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    13

    Re: I realize the magnitude of all the "Can't Connect to Wireless" threads, butttt...

    TBABill's method worked! Thank you so much! I'm so happy now haha.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    2,601

    Re: I realize the magnitude of all the "Can't Connect to Wireless" threads, butttt...

    Quote Originally Posted by Nomad5150 View Post
    TBABill's method worked! Thank you so much! I'm so happy now haha.

    Glad you got it going, congratulations! I too will make note of that trick (never thought of it!).

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Alabama
    Beans
    2,232

    Question Re: I realize the magnitude of all the "Can't Connect to Wireless" threads, butttt...

    So, you are going to do a new install just to get the wireless driver working?

    Tim
    Cyberpower PC, Core i5 2500 3.3 gHz, 8GB DDR3, ATI 6770 1GB, Samsung BX 2440 LED 1080p, 1 TB SATA III, 2 TB SATA III, Siduction Linux 64-bit

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    13

    Re: I realize the magnitude of all the "Can't Connect to Wireless" threads, butttt...

    Well it was a fresh install anyway so it didn't really matter. Also, I thought it worked, but it turns out that I have a new problem with not being able to boot, so I can't even see if it worked or not...

    Thanks anyway though.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •